+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Thanks
    Reviews

Default Single and Renting?

Hi Everyone, I'm currently living with family and looking to move out and get my own place soon I just got a BFP! So I'm thinking it will get a little cramped here with DS, myself and baby #2 all sharing the one room. I'm studying full time and I get parenting payment single, FTB A & B no rent assistance as I don't pay any rent at the moment.

I was also looking at applying for a bond loan through DOC Housing and it says rent can't exceed 60% of income. Is that with Rent assistance added in? I know you can't get rent assistance until after you get a rental agreement though. It will make a huge difference if going by my current payment I can rent up to $280ish p/w but with rent assistance I can get one up to $320ish p/w. So my question is, how much rent are you paying at the moment? Is it too much? How are you coping with rent/bills etc?

TIA!

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts
    I rented and we coped, but when bills came In it was near impossible to find the money. I only have one ds so you would have a little more. My rental started at 320 but jumped to 360 in 18 months

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 postsEmerald Star - 10,000 posts
    Awards:
    Past Moderator - Thank you
    Bubhub Blogger
    I pay $280 rent and manage well, but I do work part time.

Without work 280 would make it tight, but could still pay all the bills and expenses in the budget.

Have you got a good budget set up?

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 posts
    Awards:
    100 Posts in a weekBusiest Member of the Week - Most posts for the week ended 19/6/2014
    I pay $260 atm. I find that to be difficult at times. I study FT so get PES and work so i get a little bit extra in the way of money.