+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts

Unhappy Stitches after birth - how long did the pain last?

I had a vacuum assisted delivery 8 days ago.

Unfortunately, my little girl twisted around as they pulled her from me, and this caused me to tear.

I have a 2nd degree tear, which was very close to being 3rd degree.

I have had stitches and 8 days on, I am in the same amount of pain as I was the first day.

How long until the pain begins to subside?

I've had panadol but it doesn't touch the pain, and I don't want to take anything stronger.

I've had the stitches checked and they are all fine...no infection or anything.

How long were you in pain after your stitches?

bunkx is offline Being happy doesn't mean that everything is perfect. It means that you've decided to look beyond the imperfections
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 posts
    With dd1 I had a 1st degree tear I think could have been 2nd
    The pain lasted about a week, but I found panadol took the pain away

Thanks
    Reviews
    I had 3rd degree terrible tearing with DS1. I think the pain peaked around 7 - 10 days and then got better from there.

BTW DS2 was 1st degree tear with no pain so don't be scared about next time (I know I'm getting ahead of myself here but I wished someone had told me!).

4. The Following User Says Thank You to 2Bboys For This Useful Post:

Missabubble  (04-06-2012)

Opinionated is offline Winner 2009 - Best Avatar
    You know you love me.
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 posts
    It may not be the stitches. With me it wasn't, it was the grazing I had that caused the pain, the stitches were fine. OMG it was excruciating and had me in tears every time I had to pee, and sitting was very uncomfortable.