+ Reply to Thread
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts

Default Switching from one sided feeding to both... Advice needed!

Hi everyone I'm new to Bubhub and just after some advice! My DS2 is 16 weeks old and exclusively breastfed. He has been feeding really well however my doc says he hasn't put on enough weight. I have always fed one side per feed since birth and he has always been fine with this. Now I'm thinking I need to feed off both sides but just wondering how long it will take for my supply to adjust? Do I feed for a certain amount of time then swap? Also do I use the breast I finished the last feed with to begin the next one? Sorry for so many questions just need some advice! Hopefully someone out there can give me some ideas!Thanks for reading!

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 posts
    firstly - how does your doc measure this 'supposed' magical weight amount that your son was supposed to gain? babies gain weight differently and bf babies plateau around the 4mth mark from memory (and then have a massive growth spurt). your bub could be a couple of weeks short of this huge feeding frenzy and thats why your doc is getting all agitated.

as long as your bub is producing 5-6 wet nappies in 24hrs, 1 poopy nappy every 10 days, is alert, sleeps relatively well, has good skin tone and tears appear when they cry then YOU HAVE ENOUGH!

If you have always only offered one side (I only ever fed from one side) then your body knows to produce enough milk for each feed from that one side. You may want to offer the second when bubbie pulls off but there is no guarantee bub will take it.

yes you use the breast you used last to start the next time

ie feed1= feed left fully, offer right
    feed 2 = feed right fully, offer left etc
    feed 3 = feed left fully, offer right.

good luck and hth

3. The Following User Says Thank You to Rose&Aurelia&Hannah For This Useful Post: