+ Reply to Thread
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts

Default Reading Eggs

The reading eggs program looks like fun. I know plenty of kids that have dabbled and parents who say their kids have done the program. Has anyone actually noticed a difference to their child's learning based on the program?

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 posts
    Absolutely. I recommend it to anyone who'll listen. I am a teacher, but mostly work with older primary kids, so while I may do a little more 'teaching' to read every day with DD than some parents - I do credit the majority of DDs reading ability to Reading Eggs.

She's 4 and 4 months and has been using it for about a year. She needed to sit on my lap at the start and pointed to the screen and I did the mouse, but now uses it 80% independently (so you need to be 'around' while she's on it).

She can recognise nearly every letter and knows its name and sound. She's just started to sound out words she finds in texts/signs etc and knows around 6 sight words (the, see, zoo... etc). She tested as one of the highest in her kindy (4yo) class and the teacher agrees that she's ready to start doing take-home readers.

She's always had good fine motor skills though so a lot of the learning she does on there she then applies to writing - so this may help her as writing can consolidate a lot of the knowledge. (remember the saying "write it down so you remember it"!)

When I started the free trial they sent me heaps of special offers, I just waited til one came up that suited me then signed up for the year.
    Last edited by Stretched; 23-05-2012 at 22:47. Reason: Teachers can't spell ;)

3. The Following User Says Thank You to Stretched For This Useful Post:

Mod-Nomsie  (24-05-2012)

Thanks
    Reviews