+ Reply to Thread
    OJandMe is offline I am the strength my children will have.
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 postsEmerald Star - 10,000 posts

Default HIGH SCHOOL TEACHERS..... how do you support Prac students????

My DH just has the most horrendous disastrous prac experience at our local highschool.

He is a Grad- Dip Ed student who was undertaking his first prac in English adn History.

He got stuck with a COMPLETELY ineffectual teacher, who doesn't plan......a...n...y...t...h...i...n....g.

She expected him to teach a 70min lesson on his THIRD day in a school, with no examples of lessons she'd done, no planning overview for the term... nothing. She gave him no support and no guidance. She did not group work, she did teacher-directed explicit lessons the whole time... WITH mis-information! (like Australia being 324 yrs old )

Now.... I'm a teacher... Primary school...

and I know how much I plan, and how much planning the teachers at the schools do.

We live in a small town, her husband is the vice principal. They have a reputation around town, both with current and former students, and the community for her being an airy-fairy bish... and him being a w@nker.

All Carlo wanted was to see some plans, to know what kind of lessons she taught, and know what she wanted covered in his lessons, and know what direction they were heading.

It was his first prac, he was only supposed to be doing 15 min whole class sessions for the first week anyway...

Anyway, he's not there anymore.... the uni is trying to place him somewhere else....

So my question is... do YOU plan? Do you have planning folders, and how do you work with your prac students? Do you show them your plans, do you collaborate with them on the planning for the time they're there? Do you give them overviews of units and terms and what's being covered?