+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts

Default Customer service staff answering their phone whilst on duty - WDYT?

I had this big, stupid fight last night with my family over such a silly thing. I work in customer service and when I’m working at the counter or assisting a customer I leave my mobile phone in my locker. Yesterday my mum phoned me 3 times (which I didn’t hear) and when she rung on the 4th time I heard my phone and answered it (I was in the back office, not in the public area). She told me off for not answering my phone straight away, which I didn’t think much of at the time. But when I went to my parent’s place after work to pick up DS she let me have it, saying I should answer my phone and I don’t return calls and I’m rude. Well, firstly, I didn’t even hear my phone ring and secondly even if I did, I’m not going to answer it until I’ve finished.

Anyway, my mum just thinks that it is acceptable to carry my personal mobile with me at all times and if it rings and I’m with a customer I should just be able to excuse myself, ask the caller on my phone to hold on and continue serving my customer. Is it just me or is this totally unprofessional?

I know my supervisor would be p1ssed though, but I’m still interested to hear others opinions.
    Last edited by AceOfBase; 17-05-2012 at 18:57.

Thanks
    Reviews
    A lot of jobs don't allow you to have a mobile on you. If I worked in customer service I wouldn't answer my phone and would be annoyed if someone answered theirs while serving me. Your Mum is going to have to get over it!

We have turned into such a now now now society.

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 posts
    If I was at a bank/register/customer service desk and the attendant answered their mobile I would have and have made a written complaint.

You were right not to answer your phone.