+ Reply to Thread
    Thanks
    Reviews

Default So what are my options?

DD is 8mnths and is nowhere near sleeping through, we don't even get a 2 hour block usually. She started sleeping through at 11 weeks, slept through 3 nights in a row, and then I went back to work for 4 hours and that 4 hours has changed our lives dramatically. She now comfort feeds 8-9 times a night. So we co-sleep now. Even still, it doesn't combat the comfort feeding, it just means I don't have to get out of bed, and I wake as she's stirring, I watch her with one eye to see if she's waking or is just sleep moving/talking, and then react accordingly. She doesn't have a dummy, I don't like them, but I have tried one because I'm at my wits end.

I have tried Elizabeth Pantley's "No-Cry Sleep Solution", and I don't know if I'm some sort of extra-terrestrial, but that did nothing for us. I've been doing the pull-off method she suggests for about 4 months now....and no improvement.

We've tried the whole sleep routine at night, dinner, bed, pjs, nursery rhymes, feed, bed. She knows when it's bed time. But it's staying asleep that's the problem. Her day naps are good, she's not having too many or too little.

We tried going to our MCHN nurse for a day sleep service. I was basically put in a room and they taught me to wrap her and pat her and that was it. I was ENCOURAGED to feed her to sleep, when I explained countless times that feeding to sleep is our problem. When she wakes at night she thinks she needs the breast to get back to sleep again. All it has done is made DD want to be wrapped now as well.

I'm in tears as I'm writing this. I'm so drained. My partner and I fight about her sleeping because it's so frustrating. All my friends are constantly gloating about their precious, perfect children and how they slept through at 6 weeks, blah blah blah.