+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts

Default Question about children being separated from parents

Hi there. I can't believe I am writing here, but it appears that I will be a single parent very soon.

My husband has been discussing that when we separate, he wants us to split the kids, so that he can have one or two of them living with him permanently and then I will have the other children living with me.

I have calmly tried to speak with him about the massive impact it will have on our young children if they are separated, but he is adamant that this is what he wants or else he will just disappear out of their lives forever.

Have any of you gone through this and would Family Court allow children under 8 years old be separated from each other?

Thanks
    Reviews
    Sorry I've got no experience or knowledge of the courts but I know they consider what is best for the children more that what is best for the adults. I'd be tempted to call his bluff. Do you think you could cope with all the kids yourself? I don't know how many there are but if you want them all stick to your guns. If he walks out then he's not much of a dad anyway and the kids are better off with you. Big hugs. Sorry I can't help more but in sure other hubbers can

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 posts
    That really sounds like a horrible idea Do you think he would *really* walk out their lives forever? Or is a threat to scare you into doing what he wants? I would be inclined to ignore it. Threatening to split them up or abandon them are both very selfish choices.

I'm not sure about the courts... I would doubt it, but someone else might have more advice.

Thanks
    Reviews
    I dont believe a parent could get dull time custody of *some* of his or her kids while leaving the others with the parent.

The govt usually does 50/50 custody.