+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 posts

Default Pap smear and pregnancy

Can a pap smear while pregnant, cause a miscarriage or any damage?

I have no idea and my gp wants to do one at 12 weeks.

I don't really feel too comfortable about it

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts
    I wouldn't do it to be honest.

I was due for one before falling pregnant (simply forgot) and my GP said there was no need to do one while pregnant...it could wait until my 6 week check up.

If you don't feel comfortable with it, then don't do it. It's your body and your choice.

Thanks
    Reviews
    I had a pap smear at 9 weeks at my obs with first child and now this one. I happen to have been due for one both time.I don't think it can cause a miscarriage, however I'm not an expert. They are not poking something into your uterus or anything.
    However I guess if your only just due for one perhaps it wouldn't matter if you waited an extra 6 months if it worries you

Ulysses is offline In the eyes of a child you will see...the world as it should be.
    Thanks
    Reviews
    i didnt think they offered pap smears during pregnancy.

Apparantly they do and "if" done correctly they are fine???? (see link)

http://www.cancerscreening.gov.au/in...CSP-Policies-1

I would not be doing it unless there is a reason apart from the normal screening. It can wait until after the baby is born in my opinion - did your doc say why he wanted to do it?

Thanks
    Reviews
    I had one at about 12 weeks with DD3 and it was fine, no issues. I seem to remember the Dr telling me that they don't have to go in very far for PAP smear, not far enough to cause any issues.

Thanks
    Reviews