+ Reply to Thread
    Thanks
    Reviews

Default EBM and working full time

Hi, i am new to all of this and was hoping someone might be able to help.
    This is our first baby and i plan to breastfeed (if bubby doesnt take to it i will definately be expressing to feed).
    DH and I have planned for myself to go back to work full time and he will go part time, my MIL will be baby sitting while DH is working and is happy to feed bubby BM too.

My question is does anyone else work full time while breastfeeding or expressing? And How do you manage it? I dont want to have to EBM while at work, but is it a necessity rather than an option? Or is it ok to express in the morning and then when i get home?
    Days DH is at home he will be coming in on my lunch break so i can feed those days.

I also read BM lasts for 5 days just in the fridge so is it possible to express extra on the weekend to get through the first few days of the week, and then what i express those fist few days might last for the last few days of the week?

Sorry if this seems silly. I am still new to all of this and trying to get prepared before bubs arrives.
    Thanks for any help you can give me!!

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 posts
    How old will baby be when you go back to work? Are you able to put it off a bit so bub is at a stage of having less feeds?

You will need to express at work, probably more than once. This is so you will have enough EBM and also to keep your supply up. If it is a young baby, you may find you'd need to even have three expressing sessions but it will probably depend on how easily you can express and how much you can get. But if bub can come to you for feeds, then you'd probably only need to express once (I'm assuming you'll be away from bub about 9 hours?)

You can call the Breastfeeding Helpline on 1800 686268, it's free and they can give you lots of information about expressing and returning to work.