+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Thanks
    Reviews

Default Can't decide... bottle/breast

My DS is 11, I was 17 when I had him and I bottle fed him from day dot...

I don't think either is more beneficial than the other... that's my opinion...

I've always been under the thinking that I would do the same again... I know it's a natural thing but I don't feel comfortable talking about breastfeeding let alone doing it... I'd be fine at home on my own or in front of DH, but I've never done it before and I'm a bit scared... but I can't help wondering what it would be like, I've watched videos on 'how to' and it looks natural and comforting, however i've also heard that it's 'on demand' and it takes longer and its more frequent feeding...

I've also been having heaps of dreams about giving birth to my baby and him being put on my breast for a feed...

My husband was cranky at me at first when he found out I didn't want to breastfeed, i was going to get the tablets after the birth to stop my milk coming through, but he keeps making comments like "are you sure you don't want to just for the first few days or for the first little bit"... he wants me to, but he's OK with it being my choice if I decide not to...

I just can't decide what to do.... I'm in 2 minds about it now.... I have personal pros and cons for both....

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 posts
    It's obviously up to you, but it's generally recommended that you feed bub colostrum for the first few days, even if you don't want to breastfeed. The colostrum is incredibly useful in building their immune system.

You could always give it a try, and decide based on how it goes for you. That way if you decide not to, you'll at least have had the opportunity to see how you feel about it.

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 posts