+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks
    Reviews

Default Any PhD Mummas?

I have a 8 month old baby and am applying to do a PhD, starting in July this year. For the six months my hubby is going to stay home full time with bub, then she will go to daycare 3-4 days a week. In theory I can treat my study like a full time, albeit flexible job. I will also probably do some lecturing and contract research 10-20 hrs a week. My hubby is amazing and will help as much as he

I did my Masters while working full time, so I am confident in my time management... But this is a PhD!

Any Mummas doing a PhD... Any advice?? Am I nuts to even be thinking about this?

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts
    Subbing!

I havent even finished my degree yet... Lol... But im going on to do hons, with a view to do PhD - and have more kidlets along the way - so interested to hear replies!

Good on you though! If you made it through masters im sure you will survive just fine!

Sent from my GT-I9100T using BubHub

Thanks
    Reviews
    I've done a PhD but decided that i would finish it before any kids come along. Im pretty glad I made that decision but know plenty of people that have juggled both. They just take a bit longer and have less sleep :-)

Thanks
    Reviews
    Not a mumma yet, but hope to be soon. About to start a phd, which I've put off for years while ttc (obviously without success yet). Decided I need to stop planning around baby, but hope to be UTD soon. I figure that I will find a way to make it work if bub decides to join us mid-phd. I have a very supportive Dh and extended family.

Anyway, subbing for any hints and tips for if I find myself a phd mumma!!

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 posts
    Subbing. Finished masters several years ago and would like to continue on but very worried about time management etc..

Thanks
    Reviews