+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks
    Reviews

Default Hypotonia/ GDD/ Feeding issues - help

Hi

I have never used or joined anything like this before so please excuse my ignorance but i am desperate for some help and advice and medically have just hit wall after wall so figured that some mums that have been where i am or are there may be able to help.

My beautiful baby girl is now four months old. She is on home oxygen and has a NG tube, despite MRI and other tests she has undiagnosed reason for global development delay, hypotonia, bilateral wrist drop.

She was on ECMO immediately after birth and in NICU for first 5 weeks of her life. We are desperate to get some advice about trying to encourage her to feed from a bottle so that we can move onto solids and avoid getting a Peg if possible and that maybe helping trying to get some strength in her back may also assist with this?

Gosh there are so many issues ...... does anyone have some advice please ??

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 posts
    Hi Welcome.

My daughter is now almost 6 but sounded like your daughter a while ago.
    Alex (DD) was born full term, but had cardiac and ent issues that required surgery. She was ng, hypotonia, GDD, FTT etc etc. She's classed as 'undiagnosed genetic disorder'.

I'd love to say theres a magic answer. DD went from ng to peg to Mic-Key button. She had gut issues which stopped her absorbing anything, so she flat refused to eat/drink. She was on TPN for a short while.

Getting over the oral aversion was HARD! very hard and stressful.

Try giving your daughter a lot of oral stimulation, with a dummy, chew toys, bottle teats etc so she can use her mouth without food/drink at 1st. See how she goes with that, and if she takes to it, try introducing water, then formula. It's a very slow process.

Where abouts do you live? The RCH brisbane offer speech therapy services and feeding clinics.