+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Thanks
    Reviews

Default 1st time expecting... Worried about finances. What things should I be doing?

We're expecting our first child (12 weeks) and want to make sure our finances are in order. We have some cash saved in our mortgage offset (to cover medical expenses & any emergencies).
    What other smart things should we be doing to get our finances in order...? Any smart tips out there for 1st time parents...?

(I'm also new to BH so looking forward to joining in the fun!)

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts
    Welcome to BH and congratulations on your pregnancy - it is so exciting expecting your first child :-)

I don't really have much advice but a couple of thoughts that came to mind were;

- paying a little extra now on your telephone, electricity, water, gas will reduce the bills when bubs is born and may even put you in credit for a while.

- maybe buy nappies/wipes etc before bubs is born and when on special so that you have some stored up (this will also help so that you do not have to run to the shops alot when you may prefer to be at home)

3. The Following User Says Thank You to MsTruth For This Useful Post:

luck  (16-04-2012)

Thanks
    Reviews
    Congratulations! I agree with the above post - if you can get in credit for most utilities, it will be a real help once bub arrives.

My biggest mistake was not budgeting correctly as I had worked on receiving paid parental leave from a certain date - my DS was ten days late then it took about 2 months to actual receive my first payment - it stretched us pretty thin so if you can have extra on hand (or be in credit) so you don't have to scratch around for money it will allow you to enjoy those first few months much better.

Wishing you all the best :-)

5. The Following User Says Thank You to wobbleyhorse For This Useful Post:

luck  (16-04-2012)

Thanks
    Reviews
    Congrats