+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks
    Reviews

Default Working in reception

I have been working in childcare for 7 years and looking for a change. I am looking into reception/customer service. Anyone here have any tips for getting a job in reception? Im not sure what I'm looking for/at when I read an advertisement.

looking forward to your responses

Guest Guest
    How about realestate? I did that when I was younger and it was a good atmosphere, and it can lead into other areas like property management that you'd probably enjoy?
    Or maybe a legal secretary, I think you have to go to school for that though? I have a friend that does reception at parliament, she loves it and government jobs are pretty good to have.

Thanks
    Reviews
    I changed from childcare and started working for National hearing care and they were great and really willing to you a chance, look into getting a medical receptionist job.

Buttoneska is offline Winner 2010- Most Community Minded Thread Award
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 posts
    hey there, I think it depends what sort of work you want to do.

I worked for a large car rental company (I wanted to get out of hospitality). I started in call centre, you have sales targets to reach which I am hopeless at so I never earnt bonus commissions. But you have lots a great ppl to work with and its kinda fun atmosphere.

Part of that job, we all rotated through reception to cover the receptionist lunch break. I found it really, really lonely. You sit on your own ALL day and there is noone to talk to. Sure you are the phones, but I dunno I didn't like it. I am sure if it is your job you do additional work, our recptionsist used to organise stationary, catering, accomodation/flights for execs etc. But yeh I find it very lonely and dry.