+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks
    Reviews

Default Advice for breastfeeding a non biological child?

I've been breastfeeding DS1 for 26 months now, always planning to then bf DS2 after DP (bio mum) goes back to work at 3 months. He's now 3 weeks old, so we still have about 2.5 months till I'm taking over day breast feeds.

But... I don't think I have much milk. DS1 still feeds at least 3 times a day, but they never ever feel full. I've breastfed DS2 a few times, and he feeds for far less time than he does with DP - she has heaps more milk. He does seem to fall asleep on my b00b very fast (it's that hard core full fat toddler milk :-D)...

We asked the MCN for advice and she said to pump - but I can't pump, never could, hurts me like hell.

The plan is to slowly take over the feeds from DP till when she goes back to work and I stay with the boys at home I'll do all the day feeds and she'll do the evening and night feeds.

Any advice? Has anyone breastfed a non bio child successfully? I do have milk, just not heaps - what you would expect breastfeeding a toddler I guess.

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 posts
    I think ringing the ABA would be a great start.
    I also think getting into some some natural milk increases.
    Your body will be finely tuned to the needs of DS1...so it may take some time to adjust.

3. The Following User Says Thank You to faroutbrusselsprout For This Useful Post:

giggle berry  (30-03-2012)

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 posts
    I'm 26, when I was a bub my mum and aunties would take turns on who got to go out. The one whos turn it was to stay home that weekend breastfed my two cousins and myself, Hahaha.

Thanks
    Reviews