+ Reply to Thread
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 posts

Default Terrified of the bath...

DD who is 14 months has gone from racing to the bathroom squealing with excitement about hopping in....to clinging to me terrified and screaming in fear when she is put in the water.
    DH told me that the other day when he was bathing them he took the plug out first and her foot got caught in the suction of the water.. It has obviously scared her a lot and I'm devastated that bath time has turned into this.
    It's only me at home during the week so I don't really have the means to get in when I have so much else going on.
    Any tips? Thanks.

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 posts
    I have no experience, but maybe...

Bath crayons
    Bubbles (covering the plug)
    Colouring the water
    Some bath toys
    Getting her to put the plug in
    Story
    Having a bath with her for a few nights...

Hope she starts enjoying bath time again soon and it's not too hard on you...

ETA: just read you can't get in with her (would she shower with you)?

Thanks
    Reviews
    playing with fabourite toys/eating a favourite treat in the bath tub whilst it has no water, progressing to her being cleaned with wet flannel (bath still empty), then slowly trying to add water if she tolerates that after a week or so. i woudmt push bathing if she is scared of it, im sure a wet flannel can do the job for a little while till she likes baths again. or would she "bath" temporarily in one of those shell sandpit/water things that have no plugs (or a baby bath) and transition her back when she is no longer scared. pain to fill up with warm water tho....

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 posts
    DD7 was 2yo when she got frightened of the bath.