+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks
    Reviews

Default Moving to Canberra from London...

Hello,

We are hoping to move to Canberra from London in 2013 (long way off but we probably won't get our visas until the end of the year!).

I'd like to know which areas are good to live in for children - we have a daughter who will be 3 in December this year (so 3 and a bit when we move). We'd like to be somewhere with good daycare and then schools. For housing ideally I'd like a garden so I guess in a further out suburb. My husband is a personal trainer so it would be good if it was a suburb with a gym and I'd want all the usual amenities (coffee shop, pub...!) plus nice playgrounds. I guess I'll work fairly centrally as i'm a project manager but not sure yet...

Any tips would be really appreciated as I'm not really sure and from what I read you're either a north of the city of south of the city person...! We have family in Sydney so I guess if we can escape in the direction it might be easier but not imperative.

I wanted to start getting ideas over the summer so once we know if we are likely to get the visas I can start looking at property to rent etc

Thanks,

Fiona

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts
    I'm not from Canberra but my brother lives there with his girlfriend and almost 2yo DD - they live in Ainslie which is close to the city but still very leafy. They love it.

Good luck with the move!

Ana Gram is offline 2008 WINNER - straight shooter award
    Winner 2008 & 2009 - Community Minded thread
    Winner 2009 - Mod Award - most passionate member
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 postsEmerald Star - 10,000 postsRuby Star - 15,000 posts