+ Reply to Thread
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts

Default IVF Egg collection

Hi, I am new to the bubhub and it's my first post... We as about to start IVF on my next cycle and while I have been given all the info and wow talk about a lot of information!
    So in our nurses interview we have been given the choice of egg collection being done either under a full anaesthic or under a local. I am a little unsure of what I want to do and wondering if anyone has done it under the local and what I can expect. From what the nurse mentioned they give me a local and then another local in the vaginal wall. The whole thing takes about 30mins and I will get to see everything and hubby is there too. I guess I am a little worried just due to the length of time not to mention the discomfort, but on the other hand it could be quiet interesting.
    Any help would be great
    thank you

Thanks
    Reviews
    I have had it done both ways and would take local over general 100 times. They will give u a little sedation to keep u relaxed. It's all over in less than half an hour and your home with in 2 hours. The discomfort was fine, a couple of panadol post op and i was great.
    For me it takes ages to wake up from general and i feel terribly nauseous.
    Good luck

Poppy x

Sent from my GT-I9100T using BubHub

3. The Following User Says Thank You to PoppyLoppy For This Useful Post:

Nala9000  (15-03-2012)

Thanks
    Reviews
    I just had my first EPU under general and was not given a choice.

Have you ever had general before? Do you know how you cope after?

It can make you very groggy and some people have nausea (I skipped the nausea but was very groggy).

I'm a shy person so the poking an prodding with several ppl in the room for half an hour doesn't appeal to me very much.

You will have internal scans, probably two before EPU so you will have a sense for the discomfort you may experience although local should numb the whole area.