+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    MuminMind is offline Bubhub Award Winner - 2011- Most Helpful Member, Member I'd Most Like To Meet, Most Community Minded Thread, Best Potential Moderator and Newbie of the Year Awards
    BH Advocate - PND & AND
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts

Question Darwin - The Good, Bad and Plain Ugly!

I am after some information about living in Darwin. My DP is applying for jobs Australia-wide and I have no idea how realistic it for him to get this job, but I really would like to acquire a little bit of knowledge about the place, just in case.

***Just a bit of background, for you to understand what kind of gal I am***
    We currently live in a regional town in North QLD and I am not exactly digging it. We used to live in the thick of Sydney, and I loved the diversity and hustle and bustle of the big city. I am a social worker by profession and would love to find a job as soon as we settle somewhere new, so work opportunities for me is another biggie. We have two children (almost 2.5 years old, and almost 9 months old)

I am worried that Darwin is not really my "cup of tea" but I am willing to give it ago. So for everyone who has ever lived in Darwin or visited Darwin, please tell me what it is like; the good, bad and ugly! Don't hold back, let it all out!

TIA

Thanks
    Reviews
    Awards:
    Funniest Caption
    Welcome to Darwin!!! I love it here, have lived here for 12 years!!

What can i say, it is hot, it is humid, it rains six months of the year.

BUT Darwin is the most friendliest, laid back, comfortable place i have ever been.

If you like camping - it is awesome
    If you like our door activities - it is awesome
    The night life is ok but i dont get out that often

It is a transient town, so fairly easy to meet people

Work is usually so so easy to find

Why dont you suggest a holiday before you decide?

3. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to bpac For This Useful Post: