+ Reply to Thread
    Thanks
    Reviews

Default Government vaccination policies

Hi Everyone,

I'm an Australian medical student and am doing an assignment for the public health subject. I've chosen to cover vaccination policy and it'd be really helpful to get some of your views & attitudes. I'm especially interested in the pressure to vaccinate, such as the government's policy of requiring full vaccination to get the family tax benefit part A, unless there's an "approved exemption". Has anyone experienced having to get the exemption or not getting the full tax benefit? What impact has this had for you?

Thanks & Regards,
    Eugene

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 posts
    Do you mean a conscientious objection? It's not too hard. You just download the form and take it to a GP for sign off. Telling the GP is probably the hardest bit in case they give you a hard time. I haven't done it yet but will be as I will be delaying the vacs for my bub. I have done my research though so am more than happy to discuss with the GP. Ultimately it's not their decision.

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 posts
    I got conscientious objection forms signed last night for my 2 kids. i wasn't looking forward to it because i have heard stories of parents being given a rough time but thankfully i got a nice mchn who was quite helpful.

it is hard to get info on what payments you will not be eligible for, if you do not get a CO form or full vaccination. this was a factor in my getting the CO form completed. i was not concerned about not getting the immunisation allowance but was not sure if other payments could be cut off.

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 posts