+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks
    Reviews

Default Scared Newbie to IVF

Hi, I'm a scared newbie to IVF (ICSI). Due to start treatment soon...

Anyone care to share any stories/info with me?

Good or bad, I want to be realistic with myself and not get my hopes up...

I was really dreaming of a natural conception an water birth.. guess thats down the toilet.. the idea of so many meds is freakin me out a lil (esp needles then p for up to 10wks). Is anyone else a lil concerned of the long term effects? Considering its only been in use for 20-25yrs..

Thanks
    Reviews
    *Bump*

Thanks
    Reviews
    Hi there, I had 2 failed rounds of IVF before conceiving naturally on an off month. I know have a gorgeous 1 year old princess!

I'm not going to lie to you, it is hard, and the needles are the least of it, it's the emotional roller coaster that is toughest, plus the niggling fear that your dream will never be realised.

Get as much support as you can, whether it's on forums like this or from family and friends. Talk with your partner about what's going on, he's in this too. What ever you do, try to keep positive and resist anger and blame. Just think of this IVF journey as getting closer to your dream!

Good luck, sending you lots of baby dust.

X

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts
    Hi there

I hadn't really considered the effects of the drugs to tell you the truth haha. Didn't even cross my mind so I can't really help you with that one

I was a huge needlephobe prior to IVF but I promise it does get easier. I couldn't even look at a needle without fainting, but I can do all my own needles now. If you are concerned with them, icing the area first helps, and grab a big chunk of fat too. Doesn't hurt as much.