+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts

Default Dreaming of a (semi) self-sufficient lifestyle?

Hi all, I've just found this section of the forum and am wondering if there are others out there who would like to share ideas about growing veg, saving power, chooks, permaculture etc etc that all lead to a semi-self-sufficient lifestyle? Or at least save money!

I'm new to the idea and so far have only grown vegies etc but we are about to move out of town to our little farm block and are looking at getting advice and trying some new ideas. Now I have to say....I'm no committed greenie! In fact I'm pretty hopeless at even understanding how anything grows or what time of year to plant etc. But I'm willing to learn and have been working hard to try things out. So if anyone else knows anything or would like to toss around some ideas, let me know.

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 postsEmerald Star - 10,000 posts
    Awards:
    Past Moderator - Thank you
    Bubhub Blogger
    Would love to learn about this too if anyone has hints

Sent from my GT-I9000 using BubHub

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 posts
    This has been a dream of mine for ages. We're on a decent block now and have vege beds and a dozen fruit trees, a worm farm, and I would love to get chooks, but are holding off for now due to start up costs.

I'd love to be semi self sufficient. I've even just planted sugar cane for an experiment.

I'm still just learning myself though. My biggest obstacle is pest control. I hate chemicals, but we lost all our strawberries to caterpillars and most of our mulberries to birds. Peas, beans, corn and pumpkin worked well, but every lettuce or salad green I've planted has been inedibly bitter despite loads of water. So still lots of learning to do for me.