+ Reply to Thread
    Thanks
    Reviews

Default Blighted Ovum Experience

Hi all,
    I am new to this so apologies if I say something wrong. I am 37 years old and last year I fell pregnant, but it ended in a 'blighted ovum' diagnosis. I thought I had gotten to ten weeks, and then I started to bleed. The week before I had even commented worriedly 'I don't feel pregnant anymore.'.
    Probably stupidly I had told my family, work and friends that I was pregnant, but is some ways I was glad I had because it made it easy to be absent a few days as I was going through the mc.
    Anyways as I said I started to bleed at ten weeks, went to the hospital and they sent me to the city (an hour away) to have my first ultrasound. I had not been told I could have had an ultrasound earlier than 10 weeks and silly me had trusted the doc on that. So me and DH raced down to the city ultrasound place, not sure what to think as the doc at the hospital had suggested that she thought everything would be fine and this ultrasound was just to check things. After the car broke down briefly on the way and we discovered our mobile service had been cut off (it was like some weird nightmare day) we finally got there. I was in pain from drinking too much water in preparation but finally we got in to have the scan.
    I didn't realise I was still so full of hope until I saw the blackness of where I was being scanned and worse yet the face of the ultrasound guy as he did his work. OMG he looked mortified and I almost thought he was going to tell us that we had some horribly disfigured alien baby in there, instead he told us we had nothing.
    I felt like my heart was ripped out of my body in that moment.