+ Reply to Thread
    Thanks
    Reviews

Default Gestational Surrogacy in Queensland questions

Hi there
    I am new to Australia and was just wondering how it all works in comparison to New Zealand.
    I understand that being able to do surrogacy in Queensland is all really new.
    Are you allowed to be a surrogate if you have had c sections with your births?
    Do you have to have completed your family?

I only ask as I did a gestational surrogacy in New Zealand.
    Went through the ethics commity, councelling sessions (we had intended parents, egg donor & partner, me and my DH), did the whole IVF process to have it not work and had no embryos on ice. Intended parents couldn't afford to do it again, so that is where it ended.
    Was quiet deflating to say the least to have that kind of outcome after all the work put in to try and make it work.
    But was also very educational and got to know some really nice people in the process.
    I have had c sections with all 3 of my children and I have a letter from my obstertrician to say that I have the all clear for any future births to be c sections.

What is the ethics process like here?

Thanks in advance

Thanks
    Reviews
    Hi, how disappointing for your IPs to go through all that and not even even get any embryos. Surrogacy is legal in most Australian states but while the laws differ slightly between states the process is essentially the same as what you have described. If your doctor has cleared you for another pregnancy and birth, I can't see why your previous c-sections would be an issue. The main issue with c-sections is that many hospitals are not comfortable in letting the baby go home with anyone other than the birth mother so the birth mother's longer stay in hospital after a c-section may result in a longer period in hospital for the baby as well. I think that it is wonderful that you are considering trying again

Thanks
    Reviews
    Thanks.