+ Reply to Thread
    Thanks
    Reviews

Default The terrible two's...save me!

Hi all, I'm new to bubhub!

I'm in need of some advice from other parents who are currently or have dealt with toddlers and their behavioral problems & tantrums.
    I'm a single mum with a 2.5 year old son. He is a lovely child, I adore him with all my heart but jeez he has been pushing my buttons to the point where I feel I can't cope with the daily struggle of being a parent.

He, all of a sudden about a month ago has decided to do anything and everything that he knows isn't a nice or good thing to do. Weather it be hitting, screaming, pouring water on his toys, throwing food around, refusing to eat anything healthy apart from bread. just general destructive behaviors that causes mess and havoc.

I feel I give him as much attention as I can, and keeps him entertained with various activities indoors and outdoors at home. We go to playgroup once a week, visit friends and family, takes him to the park etc and childcare when I am at work.

How do you suggest I approach his behavior? It is such a struggle to get him to do anything, as if he is walking all over me. It's so physically and emotionally draining, I can't keep up!

Thanks
    Reviews
    They can be very testing at 2.5 and I think look for leadership at this age. Lead by example.!
    I try to be firm and not let my 2yo DD she any reaction from me, like losing control or frustration.
    Another good piece I was given was to pick your battles with your kids, like for example I choose not to battle over dinner - as long as I think what I have offered is a reasonable meal for them then I figure they can't be too hungry (I don't let them eat anything else til next meal time but don't make a big deal of it)
    Where as I would feel the hitting is a battle I would choose to overcome as it's not a acceptable behavior.
    Not sure if any of this helps but know that your not alone and we know it can be very frustrating & tiring.