+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 posts

Default Coping Strategies During C/Section?

I'm booked in to have my little man on Friday

I'm having an elective c/s after a traumatic labour which resulted in an emergency c/s with my DD, 5.5 years ago.

Today I've started to get a bit nervous about the whole thing. Up until now I haven't thought too much about the specifics, but it's all becoming very real now.

Just wondering if anyone has any tips for dealing with the anxiety before, but especially during, the surgery?
    I'm not very good with this kind of thing, even minor dental work fills me with dread, so I'm not sure how I'm going to cope...

Any tips would be greaty appreciated!

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts
    I'm exactly the same as you!!!
    The morning of my elective c section dec 2010 I woke from sleep at 3am !!! My alarm was set for me to wake at 5am as we had to be at the hospital at 6:30am!!! I could not sleep and was terrified even though I had been through 2 emergency sections previously!! I called my mum and was talking to her she told me to try not to think about the actual procedure and focus on what I was getting out of it as the end result!!!
    The thing that terrified me most Is needles and pain - I don't do both very well!!! All morning I tried so hard to concentrate on everything possible to do with my new baby that I would be holding by that evening!!