+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts

Default Bedsharing query

Hey everyone, I have a 6 week old DD and she sleeps with dp and I in bed. Lately though when she's a bit unsettled she wants to sleep on me. She was happy with me holding her hand but now she sleeps in the crook of my arm while I sleep half on my side and half on my back. Dp is worried because DD and I basically end up sleeping with our faces touching and with me curled around her. I don't feel like I'll roll onto her etc but would like some reassurance as to whether this is ok/safe.
    I love having her this close to me but I'm still unsure I'm doing the right thing

Thanks
    Reviews
    HI Etienne

I'm not an expert, but I think mothers are so attuned to their babies that, as long as you are not intoxicated, or on sedating medication, or extremely exhausted, and that your DH is aware of her presence, it is highly unlikely that you would roll on her. I read a book by James McKenna about Safe Co-sleeping ("Sleeping with your baby"), and found it excellent. He still recommends that babies should be placed on their back to reduce the risk of SIDS.

It is a beautiful way for both of you to sleep.

3. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to shirleysmum For This Useful Post:

Etienne  (04-01-2012),laurea  (04-01-2012)

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 posts
    I've slept with 3 different dds right up until they were ready for a big bed so like 2-3yrs old... Currently sleeping with dd3 at 3mths. I think you'll find you 'just know' they are there IYKWIM?! I don't roll or move around so it works fine for us.

---------
    Mummie to
    Lucy Alys (July '06)
    Minnie Audrey (July '09)
    Pippi Violet (oct '11)

5. The Following User Says Thank You to shinebrite For This Useful Post:

Etienne  (04-01-2012)

Thanks
    Reviews