+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 posts

Default When someone can't tollerate the way you are - long term relationships

I haven't posted on this site for some time but am searching for some advice and thoughts about long term relationships.

My question is would you stay in a long term relationship if you are never going to move in together and get married because your partner cannot tollerate something about you? It would mean a big change that would take a long time to do and I don't know that I can change to that extent.

The situation is:

I have been dating for 2.5 yrs and the last 9 months of so have felt the relationship isn't going anywhere, that is not moving towards moving in together or anything like that. He has no kids and I have one.

Finally after alot of unhappiness I found the courage to discuss it as I am not good with confrontation and we don't have the best communication.

I am a bit of a hoarder and my house has clutter he is the opposite minimalistic and neat. He will not consider getting a place together because of this. I am trying to change but is is hard work and taking me a very long time to let go of possessions. I also like to buy and sell stuff.

He says I come across as on edge and not very cheerful I would say this is because of my house and my inability to get it sorted out.

Hence for my questions above.

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts
    honestly i'd leave.. but its easy for me to sit here and say that.

i just think there is nothing keeping you there, no kids together, no house together and it sounds like he's making excuses

3. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to mummaof4 For This Useful Post:

*Cj*  (30-12-2011),HugsBunny  (06-11-2012),Issey  (30-12-2011)

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Issey View Post