+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks
    Reviews

Default Is there a difference between brand form or generic form of Losec tablet?

So as the question asks..is there a difference as to whether you get losec tab in the actual brand name or generic? i've got the generic one, have to break it in half,dissolve in water and give it to DD. From other posts I've read ..people have suggested dissolving the whole tab in water and also there are granules. I havnt really noticed any granules in the generic form so was wondering if anyones used the generic one ?? otherwise am thinking of just getting another script to get the brand name one.
    (why do medications have to come in brand name and generic...so confusing !!!)

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 posts
    there is no difference to the drug between the two. it is confusing isn't it? My DH gets really confused, but since I'm a nurse i forget it can be confusing. really the generic is just like buying the coles brand, and the "brand name" version is known as is. e.g. panadol is actually paracetamol, so a cheaper generic version of that would be the chemist brand or parahexal. no difference with the drug

3. The Following User Says Thank You to moongazer For This Useful Post:

samantha81  (09-12-2011)

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts
    Nope, just the name is different. The active ingredient is exactly the same

5. The Following User Says Thank You to MoonGecko For This Useful Post:

samantha81  (09-12-2011)

Thanks
    Reviews
    Quote Originally Posted by moongazer View Post