Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Default Stupid expensive maternity clothes......

SO i'm 25 weeks and have put off really getting much 'proper' maternity wear...
    Just can't stand it's so expensive and yes i've tried target and 'long tops' but it just doesn't do it for me!!

So tomorrow i'm going to buy bulk maternity clothes, the expensive kind and dammit i'm gonna feel pretty again!!

Vent over.
    I love my Hubby

2. The Following User Says Thank You to jenrose For This Useful Post:

MsImpatient (14-06-2012)

I agree! Everyone who's pregnant at the moment has the same clothes as Target is the only place to buy decently priced items!

I too bit the bullet and bought two dresses (for $239) to wear to work as I'm sick of wearing the same skirt every day and long tops - just likeyou.

Luckily its my birthday coming up then for everyone it's Christmas, so I know what I'll be putting on my christmas wish list!

Are you having trouble finding shoes too! What can I wear that is both stylish for work (but not too high), that protects my feet, but is cool for summer but isn't an 80 year old's shoe!? I must admit lack of shoes is just as frustrating huh!?

Quote Originally Posted by jenrose View Post
    SO i'm 25 weeks and have put off really getting much 'proper' maternity wear...
    Just can't stand it's so expensive and yes i've tried target and 'long tops' but it just doesn't do it for me!!

So tomorrow i'm going to buy bulk maternity clothes, the expensive kind and dammit i'm gonna feel pretty again!!

Vent over.

4. The Following User Says Thank You to CuddlesAwait For This Useful Post:

jenrose (16-11-2011)

I am so with you on this one. I'm not sure how I managed last time around but all my clothes from last time are so daggy!! I really have difficulty finding something. Work isn't too bad as I'm still fitting into my tidy work pants and have some nice long tops. But, as for casual, I look so slovenly and yuck, which in turn makes me feel yuck. I think I'm going to bite the bullet and go on-line and order something nice. I just hate not seeing for real what I'm buying. Like you I don't know what suits me this shape either! There's definitely a gap in the market
    ME 39, DP 44
    DD born 23.6.08
    DS born 27.3.12

6. The Following User Says Thank You to Bellaleggos For This Useful Post:

jenrose (16-11-2011)

Apparently Kmart have scrapped their maternity range, not that it was anything great.It's really hard, especially when the prices are often inflated & you won't need it for long, or else they're just plain hideous.

I didn't mind pumpkin patches and it wasn't the worst priced stuff
    Mo Chlann, mo Ghra', mo chuid den Tsaol

I couldn't justify the price plus I found clothes in a larger size from crossroads or autograph at a way cheaper price suited my shape better then maternity clothing Am 37 weeks now and all I have brought maternity wise is bras and feeding tops for when bub is born

10. The Following User Says Thank You to kirstyandmick For This Useful Post:

CharlieBug (18-11-2011)

Have you tryed k-mart? They have some decent normal clothes not maternity clothes but they should fit over your belly there very loose fitting or they have some nice tight singlets and that if that what your looking for?!?! I can still fit into all my clothes so I guess im lucky not to be having this problem but goodluck xx

I got away with not buying any maternity clothes aside from a couple novelty ones. 'hands off the bump' etc. I bought basic stuff in stretchy material like from Jay jays in bigger sizes... and they do the longer tank tops and lace singlets. Bought some of those belly bands, or cheap boob tubes and folded them over my pants.... I went budget maternity and still managed to look chic. haha

I agree. I just couldnt afford or justify paying that amount of money for clothes and I didnt feel pretty in much anyway. lol

Goodluck! Hope ehatever you buy and wear makes you feel wonderful
    Mrs H Mr H
    Fuzzy Mushroom - 2

& a perfect angel
    Eden ~ May 2011

I have been collecting bits and pieces off Ebay, Op Shops, and joining various Facebook groups to pick up some pre loved bargains
    DD,DD,DD,DD,DS.

Have a good cry, wash out your heart.
    Keep it inside, it will tear you apart.

14. The Following User Says Thank You to Hokey Pokey For This Useful Post:

Country mama (17-11-2011)

You won't regret it. It sucks that it's so expensive but it's definitey nicer to wear. Depending on your style you may get more use out of it than you think. I bought a $100 pair of black pants when I was pregnant with my first and I've been wearing them regularly for the last 4 years. Same with a gorgeous jersey wrap skirt. Buy breastfeeding tops and you'll get another 6 to 12 months post pregnancy out of them and it'll make your life heaps easier.

16. The Following User Says Thank You to sahm For This Useful Post:

jenrose (16-11-2011)