+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 90
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    sydney
    Posts
    711
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked
    274
    Reviews
    0
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts

    Default GASP Clothing store - worst customer service ever!? Read this!

    I think this is the right spot to post this...

    This has gone viral on the internet today. It has been confirmed that it is NOT a hoax. The original emails are below - GASP's reply appears first, the woman who complained sent an email regarding customer service and comments made by the sales assistant about her size (Size 12). The reply is unbelievable. Apparently Today Tonight is covering the story?

    Dear Keara O’Neil,



    Having now had the privilege of having both version of events, I am now in a position to respond to your complaint.



    From the very outset, one thing that you should be mindful of is; Our product offerings are very, very carefully selected, so to ensure that we do not appeal to a broad customer base. This is something which is always at the forefront of our minds when undertaking buying duties. The reason for this is to ensure that we only carry products which appeal to a very fashion forward consumer. This by default means that the customer whom is acclimatised to buying from “clothing for the masses” type retailers, is almost frightened by our range, sometimes we have found that this type of customer, almost finds our dresses funny, and on occasion noted comments such as 'it looks like a dead flamingo'. When we receive comments like this, we like to give ourselves and our buyers, a big pat on the back, because we know we are doing our job right, and modus operandi is being upheld.



    Our range is worn by A list celebrities to the likes of Kim Kardashian, Selena Gomez and Katy Perry to name only a few. Now, as one might appreciate, the style counsel for these types of celebrities are not ones to pick “run of the mill” type clothing, and they do so on the basis to ensure that the styles are cutting edge, and only worn by a select few. Similarly these items are priced such that they remain inaccessible to the undesirable.


    Insofar as our employee goes; Similar to our product offerings, our employees are selected with a similar approach. Chris whom served you is a qualified stylist whom has a sixth sense for fashion, and Chris’s only problem is that he is too good at what he does, and as I am sure you are aware, people whom are talented, generally do not tolerate having their time wasted, which is the reason you were provoked to leave the store.



    Whilst I concede that you work for chain retailer, unfortunately that does not make us like for like. It is probably fair to assume, a lot of what I have said in this email, either doesn’t make sense to you, or you totally disagree with it all, which is what I would expect (unless of course I have you totally wrong –which I doubt). Let me guess, you would never, ever hire Chris in the course of your duty, would you? This is the very reason, why your comment “from one retailer to another” is so disproportionate, it’s almost as though we are in a totally different industries. Chris is a retail superstar, who possess unparalleled ability, and I am sorry you feel upset by him, but he knew you were not going to buy anything before you even left your house.



    So if you would like to do us any favours, please do not waste our retail staff’s time, because as you have already seen, they will not tolerate it. I am sure there are plenty of shops that appease your taste, so I respectfully ask that you side step our store during future window shopping expeditions.



    Thank you for your enquiry.

    __________________________________________________ __

    Hi Chad,

    I had the privilege of shopping at your brand new Chapel St store on Saturday 24th September with my three bridesmaids in tow. On the hunt for bridesmaids dresses and a hens dress for myself we walked into the store and were automatically pounced on by a male staff member, I understand that this is protocol for many retail outlets and ours is no different. The staff member was initially funny and extremely helpful with sizes etc. I chose a bright pink dress to try on but was unable to do the zip up so asked for the size up, when I eventually got the correct size and came out of the change room I was unable to discuss the likes or dislikes of the dress with my bridesmaids as the sales assistant kept saying “you should just get it”, when I told him I would think about it, he pulled me aside and whispered “Is it the price your worried about”. By now I was extremely frustrated, and again told him I’d think about it, I walked back into the change room and closed the door behind me, only to have it pushed open with the sales assistant half standing in my change room, again whispering “I think you should just get it”, when I gave him attitude and said rudely, “I already told you I would think about it”, he then replied, “With your figure I really think you should buy it”. I’m not sure exactly what he meant by that, but considering the attitude used to deliver such a statement I can only imagine that it was an immature dig in relation to my healthy size 12 frame. I got changed in a hurry and walked right out of the change rooms and out of the store, I could hear the sales assistant yelling out to me, but I just ignored him and continued to leave, assuming my bridesmaids would follow. After waiting down the road for my bridesmaids to come out of the store I was told by one of them that the sales assistant yelled out “Have fun finding something at Supre”, when one of them approached him in regards to his comments, he replied “I knew you girls were a joke the minute you walked in”. When my bridesmaids walked out of the store another two customers walked out with them, they too could not believe the immaturity of the sales assistant.



    I have worked in retail for 12 years and have come across an array of customer complaints over the years, none of which come even close to what I encountered on Saturday at your store, I wish I was exaggerating but unfortunately for your company this person actually exists and is working in one of your stores. I am pretty laid back and was quite happy just leaving your store, it was my bridesmaids who felt the need to say something to him………I dread to think how many customers he has not only offended but how many customers have left your store due to the pressure placed on getting the sale, and then to be harassed when that sale hasn’t taken place.



    Ring me, don’t ring, not fussed………I’m just one retailer notifying another of an extremely inappropriate sales assistant.



    Keara O'Neill


    GASP has underestimated the power of social media - they have disabled their facebook page after so many complaints were posted on there.

    There is also this story on it :
    http://www.melbourneweekly.com.au/ne...p/2308201.aspx

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    8,267
    Thanks
    309
    Thanked
    356
    Reviews
    0
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 posts
    hilarious!!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    1,149
    Thanks
    655
    Thanked
    321
    Reviews
    0
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts
    Wow that's unbelievable!! I really can't believe they would treat a potential customer like that when really all they had to do was apologize!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    19,600
    Thanks
    3,256
    Thanked
    4,044
    Reviews
    8
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 postsEmerald Star - 10,000 postsRuby Star - 15,000 posts
    What the frig...

    But yeah - umm - up yourself much gasp?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    19,600
    Thanks
    3,256
    Thanked
    4,044
    Reviews
    8
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 postsEmerald Star - 10,000 postsRuby Star - 15,000 posts
    I actually have 3 dresses from gasp - gosh don't I feel super cool right now! Lol. Actually they are a little too 'cool' for me. 1 still has tags on it and the other 2 I haven't worn in 3 years. I bought them when I was a 20 year old DINK.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    22,848
    Thanks
    6,202
    Thanked
    16,895
    Reviews
    10
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 postsEmerald Star - 10,000 postsRuby Star - 15,000 postsDiamond Star - 20,000 posts
    Awards:
    Bubhub Blogger - Thanks100 Posts in a week
    I hadn't heard of them before (what can I say, I'm a country girl lol) but I had a look on their site and they're stuff doesn't look that 'high end' more expensive main****** like portmans. As for the reply anyone would think they are curing cancer, and the blatent comments that she's not classy enough for their clothes lol I was expecting clothes like in Chanel or Gucci alas no

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to delirium For This Useful Post:

    Gandalf  (29-09-2011)

  8. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    home
    Posts
    6,465
    Thanks
    1,161
    Thanked
    2,532
    Reviews
    0
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 posts
    I received this email just before. If it is in fact true, I hope that this store gets all the bad media attention they deserve. What an appalling way to respond to a complaint!!!

  9. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    5,279
    Thanks
    2,361
    Thanked
    2,023
    Reviews
    1
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 posts
    Sounds like someone had a bit too much blow before work

    The funny thing is;
    1. GASP is not high end
    2. It's not really in the fashion forefront at all
    3. They don't have any major or interesting designers working for them- I think Target beats them on the account of Stella McCartney
    4. GASP is affordable- you can get cocktail/evening dresses for between $200-500.
    5. They suck and are not the best quality or cuts. For the same price you can get Charlie Brown, or Sass&Bide, who are better.
    6. The designs are generic.
    7. You can do better on Asos or go high end on Net-a-porter.

    I hate stores that make people feel inferior. My local Kookai is a bit *bleh* like that.

    I always lol at the fact that shop assistants think they're superior just because they work in a *insert brand* retail store but really, they're casual employees on $22ph in borrowed clothes, and if the customers didn't come in and buy shiz, they wouldn't be working at all...

  10. The Following 12 Users Say Thank You to Luna Lovegood For This Useful Post:

    Azurial  (29-09-2011),brogeybear  (29-09-2011),Gandalf  (29-09-2011),gizmoduckus  (30-09-2011),Mod-Nomsie  (30-09-2011),Orris Apjoko  (30-09-2011),remembertobreathe  (29-09-2011),Shoopuf  (29-09-2011),The Fox  (02-10-2011),TinyLittleTootsies  (29-09-2011),~ElectricPink~  (29-09-2011)

  11. #9
    bellalika's Avatar
    bellalika is offline I'm trying my hardest, please don't ask for more.
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Vic
    Posts
    4,491
    Thanks
    175
    Thanked
    717
    Reviews
    0
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 posts
    So... No shopping at GASP for bridesmaids dresses for my sisters wedding.

  12. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    19,600
    Thanks
    3,256
    Thanked
    4,044
    Reviews
    8
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 postsEmerald Star - 10,000 postsRuby Star - 15,000 posts
    I bet this Chris dude wrote the email himself. Lol

  13. The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to Boobycino For This Useful Post:

    Deserama  (29-09-2011),Gandalf  (29-09-2011),naebie  (29-09-2011)


 

Similar Threads

  1. Customer Service declining due to online shopping?
    By Mod-RaryGirl in forum General Chat
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 30-10-2012, 13:31
  2. Baby jogger customer service
    By peasmum in forum Product Recommendations & Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-01-2012, 21:31

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
free weekly newsletters | sign up now!
who are these people who write great posts? meet our hubbub authors!
Learn how you can contribute to the hubbub!

reviews
learn how you can become a reviewer!

competitions

forum - chatting now
christmas gift guidesee all Red Stocking
Riverton Leisureplex
An Extreme Family Pass at Riverton Leisureplex is the ultimate way to cool off during the summer school holidays. The $30 Pass allows pool and waterslide access for 2 adults and 2 children, as well as a drink, popcorn and an icy pole for each person.
sales & new stuffsee all
True Fairies
True Fairies is the first interactive website where children can engage and speak with a real fairy through the unique webcam fairy portal. Each session is tailored to the child, and is filled with enchantment and magic.
Visit website to find out more!
featured supporter
Sudocrem / Infacol
Sudocrem® Healing Cream is a soothing emollient cream which aids and assists in the management of nappy rash, eczema, abrasions, wounds and minor skin irritations. Infacol Wind Drops are an effective method of treating wind in infants.
gotcha
X

Pregnant for the first-time?

Not sure where to start? We can help!

Our Insider Programs for pregnancy first-timers will lead you step-by-step through the 14 Pregnancy Must Dos!