Page 2 of 23 FirstFirst 123412 ... LastLast
    Quote Originally Posted by Jakois View Post
    Yes it should be investigated.

Would it have attracted so much media attention if it were a hospital birth? No it wouldn't. Babies regularly die in hospitals without the nation ever hearing their name, but if a birth goes wrong in a home environment, then of course its a HUGE story.

I would be hesitant to rely solely on media reports for accurate details in relation to these tragedies.
    No it probably would not have cause so much media attention compared to deaths in a hospital and the details can be left out etc . But at the end of the day 2 babies have died and there should be an investigation and for the midwife to challenge an investigation by the coroner as "Legal precedent holds a child is only a person, with rights, when born alive.
    Ms Barrett argued common law ruled a heartbeat, pulse and respiration were the only true signs of life."

Issues like this put a really bad light on home births, which make it even harder for women to birth the way they choose.
    DH 33 and Me 33, DS1 - 6 and DS2 - 16months

TTC Oct 08 - m/c Aug 09, ICSI Sept 10 = BFN, FET Nov 10 - 2 failed thaws. ICSI Jan 11 = early m/c - March 11 - 2 embies trf, ended up with DS2

DaughteroftheForest is offline Sometimes you have to forget what you want in order to remember what you deserve
    I also live in Adelaide and have been aware of this case for quite sometime, as the Midwife in question has attended the births of many close friends of mine.

I think it's quite telling that the family involved support Lisa 100% and do not blame her at all for what happened to their baby.

I wouldn't hesitate to use her as my midwife if I needed an IM to Home birth. Luckily enough I qualify for a home birth through the hospital system.

The fact of the matter is, sometimes babies just die. She did everything she could to bring that little girl into the world alive. And people who are questioning this should read the coroners report instead of basing their opinions on the information supplied by the media.
    "I could only find single cans of Mother in the servo and was heaps annoyed cos it was going to cost me a fortune. But then I saw the four packs were on special up the front and was like 'Ha, screw you single mothers!' - Oh, wait..."

Funniest.
    Story.
    Ever.

3. The Following 17 Users Say Thank You to DaughteroftheForest For This Useful Post:

*Cj* (16-10-2011),AM (03-11-2011),Annabella (04-09-2011),Benji (16-10-2011),BornToBe (03-09-2011),brogeybear (14-10-2011),codswallop (16-10-2011),Gandalf (14-10-2011),Jakois (30-08-2011),kbf2plus2 (16-10-2011),Lillynix (30-08-2011),MamaC (17-10-2011),missie_mack (14-10-2011),MuminMind (14-10-2011),naebie (04-09-2011),trishalishous (04-09-2011),wrena (04-09-2011)

I agree daughter of the forest. The families involved support her 100%. They were there, they know what happened and how hard she tried to save the baby, they were the ones that tragically lost their daughters.

Although I believe an inquest is probably appropriate under the circumstances, as others have said, it worries me that it will quite likely be used to basically determine homebirth laws in our country. I also believe Lisa is within her rights to challenge the decision to have an inquest because both babies were stillborn, and in most cases there is no inquest into stillbirths. The parents also did not want an inquest, which says a lot. (As I said, I thunk it was probably appropriate although I feel it's a bit of a witch hunt).

There are many deaths in hospital too, and they never get the media coverage this case has. I read in inquest into the deaths of two babies who died very soon after birth as a result of the same obstetrician's actions. I'd never heard of it til I read the inquest so it obviously didn't get the same coverage this case has

I only just heard about this the other day The fact is it can create precedent for homebirth and hospital birth with the pulse activity the ambos found. I heard, so I may be wrong, but that that activity is not enough to even make a heart beat, let alone the fact the baby had never taken a breathe outside the womb, yet was deemed alive. I'm not surprised the midwife fought them on that one.

It's just so horribly sad, and there is no way this would even get a mention in a hospital setting.
    Me 25 - DH 27
    Mr Not quite (8) Mr through and through (4) Mr fatty McBatty 16-07-2010

I do find it interesting though thinking if there would be so much media scrutiny if these had been hospital births.
    Not really. This story has media interest because it's now subject to a coronial inquiry that could result in Ms Barrett being criminally charged. In addition, her role as 'birth advocate' is also being investigated as if she's found to be performing midwifery duties while unregistered well that does not bode well for her either. Either way, this is not an avenue by which to judge the competency of Ms Barrett but to simply acknowledge that this is a very, very serious matter which isn't just a home birth issue and unfortunately the media haven't gotten the entire picture out there for the public to read.

Like others have said, I await with interest the coroner's report on the matter.
    Allowed??? Um... isn't it YOUR body, baby, birth??? You can put whatever you want to in your birth plan... it's your human right! Hospitals are very good at acting as though THEY are in charge of you, your body, your baby and your birth, don't fall for it!- AM on The Politics of Breastfeeding

This is a really intense issue. Unfortunately not all babies will survive birth, it sucks but it's true. Women will have miscarriages, stillbirths, and neonatal deaths. Does this mean that all births should happen in hospital? Absolutely not. A vast majority of births have a happy ending, and for a majority of women, birthing at home is safe.
    Mum to Elle (July 09) and Sam (Jan 11) - work, study, marathon training, SAHM
    "Oh, so they have internet on computers now! " - Homer Simpson

Inquests should only be held when there has been a *death*. The coroner has actually changed the meaning of "life" legally in deciding to proceed to inquest. What people fail to realise is that this has far reaching implications, think for instance of organ donation as one example, which requires the donor to still have electrical pulses.
    Stillbirths should not proceed to inquest. It's a tragic fact that babies die every day in hospitals, and yet it's accepted as part of life there.
    This (and other cases like it) is nothing more than a modern day witch hunt. It's disgraceful. The coroner should be ashamed of himself for using his position in such a way. The media should be ashamed of themselves for misrepresenting facts. And the general public should be ashamed for closing their eyes to the reality of the situation simply because they falsely assume it doesn't effect them.
    Mummy Daddy = Liji & Junipah

(JIC you were wondering: homebirthing, non vaxing, unschooling, BFing, babywearing, bedsharing, hairy legged feminist & proud of it.)

9. The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to brogeybear For This Useful Post:

codswallop (16-10-2011),DaughteroftheForest (14-10-2011),elleandsam (14-10-2011),Gandalf (14-10-2011),Lillynix (14-10-2011),missie_mack (14-10-2011)

I would suggest anyone wanting to judge should research this further. I am one who fell for the media reports at first glance and have since changed my mind reading the real story of what happened.

My heart goes out to the family.
    PEACE
    it does not mean to be in a place where there is no noise
    trouble or hard work but to be in the midst of all those things
    and still be calm in your heart

Brogey, the deaths were not ruled as stillbirths.
    As a result, a Coroner's Inquest was ruled as being necessary.
    I can appreciate why supporters of Ms Barrett would be upset.
    And I can see why people would jump to many conclusions as to what this case may actually be about and make their judgements accordingly.
    But I'm ambivalent about that. I'm interested as to how this will all turn out, what the ramifications will be and whether any precedents will be set. More importantly, I support the right of the public to know what really happened.

For those who have only read media reports, earlier rulings made by the Supreme Court and the Coroner in this matter are available online.
    Allowed??? Um... isn't it YOUR body, baby, birth??? You can put whatever you want to in your birth plan... it's your human right! Hospitals are very good at acting as though THEY are in charge of you, your body, your baby and your birth, don't fall for it!- AM on The Politics of Breastfeeding

Quote Originally Posted by InBetween View Post
    Brogey, the deaths were not ruled as stillbirths.
    As a result, a Coroner's Inquest was ruled as being necessary.
    I can appreciate why supporters of Ms Barrett would be upset.
    And I can see why people would jump to many conclusions as to what this case may actually be about and make their judgements accordingly.
    But I'm ambivalent about that. I'm interested as to how this will all turn out, what the ramifications will be and whether any precedents will be set. More importantly, I support the right of the public to know what really happened.

For those who have only read media reports, earlier rulings made by the Supreme Court and the Coroner in this matter are available online.
    Shoulder dystocia isn't an uncommon situation in hospitals and sadly in hospitals babies still die. Hell, there was even media articles about OB/GYNs now being trained to break collarbones because they think it is so prevelant.
    If you don't think it is personal, research how many OBs and hospital midwives have been brought before the courts for babies lost in hospitals.
    Last edited by missie_mack; 14-10-2011 at 20:44.
    Mo Chlann, mo Ghra', mo chuid den Tsaol

13. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to missie_mack For This Useful Post:

Benji (16-10-2011),codswallop (16-10-2011),Gandalf (14-10-2011)