+ Reply to Thread
    Thanks
    Reviews

Default IVF in United States - Better, Cheaper, Faster?

Hi Everyone

I am a total newbie to the bubhub and would love to hear comments from anyone who has considered or gone through IVF in the US given the strong Aussie Dollar. Some friends have recently gone through the process and have been raving about the lower cost, quality of care and service. They only had to go through a single cycle and their first single implantation was a success! They were also really happy with the breadth of tests offered before the first cycle which identified them as carriers for a serious genetic illness which they screened for before implanting embryos. It all sounds great in theory but they travel back and forth on business several times a year and I am concerned if it doesn't work out the first time what we do next? Airfares are cheap these days but surely it would be a hassle flying back and forth to LA and financially it will add up before long.

Love to hear your thoughts.

Thanks!

Jaime

babycake is offline Bubhub Award Winner - 2011- Funniest Thread Award
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts
    Hi Jaime,
    I am not sure that it would be cheaper, even with the strong aussie dollar. I paid average $3000 out of pocket for each cycle. Flights and hotel alone would cost this much surely? That was 4 years ago though, maybe some one who has had IVF more recently could help. Good Luck.

3. The Following User Says Thank You to babycake For This Useful Post:

jsommers75  (09-08-2011)

Thanks
    Reviews
    IVF is definately cheaper in australia. The biggest factor in this is that all the IVF drugs are on the PBS and are HIGHLY subsidized (for example a vial of gonal-f here is about $30 from a chemist but in America it would cost you well over $500).

An IVF cycle is about $7500 USD in the USA and then drug costs are on TOP of that which are usually close to $10,000.