+ Reply to Thread
    Thanks
    Reviews

Default Travel Insurance when pregnant

Hi everyone! Just needed recommendations for travel insurance that covers you when you're pregnant. I'm only travelling in australia and will probably be at the end of second trimester so want something that covers me just in case baby decides to come early or anything else that may happen related to pregnancy.

Any experiences with certain companies - good or bad would be helpful. I was thinking of travel insurance direct - anyone used them?

Thanks
    Reviews
    I'm not an expert, but I thought your Private Health Cover would cover you Australia wide. If you don't have PHI your treatment would be the same in the public system in any state.

I never get travel insurance travelling in Australia as I am pretty sure my PHI covers the associated costs.

I could be completely wrong though.

I didn't think you could get travel insurance in Australia if you were Australian.

3. The Following User Says Thank You to travelmum For This Useful Post:

Mmumm  (20-08-2013)

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 posts
    There is no point in getting travel insurance for medical reasons for the baby because you are covered by your health insurance and medicare.

The reason for travel insurance within Australia is if you want to cover the costs of your flights, accommodation, etc in case you have to forfeit it and the places that you book through don't offer refunds.

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 posts