Page 1 of 66 1231151 ... LastLast

Default **Calling all Adelaide ART/IVF ladies - Thread 13**

Quote Originally Posted by jayemkayare View Post
    Kribby - I was with Repromed and from the first appointment I was booked in for to start on my next cycle. They do it pretty quick, so as long as you don't need other tests then you would probably be started at your next period (if you want).

To the ladies thinking about jabbing themselves, it really is mind over matter. When I teach my patients to do it I educate to concentrate on breathing, breath deeply and make a decision to inject either on a breath in or out and say on the 3rd breath you inject (no stopping!). This way your concentrating far to hard on breathing and counting to worry about the jab. Once the needle is in, the hard part is over, push the plunger down slowly! It may not work for everyone though.
    Amazing! Well I've had that many tests you'd think I don't need anymore but who knows!! Haha I agree with the jab technique that's what I do when I wax haha commit myself to number three and... Rip!!! maybe I can jab myself after all! Plus from memory I iced it for a few minutes and barely felt it!
    #1-ICSI BFP = Baby Girl Ella Maree Sue 16/08/09
    #2 - ICSI BFP= Twins Due 13/02/12

Second: Best wishes for your EPU this friday and the rest of the cycle will be thinking of you and praying for you

On the jabbing matter - its really doesnt hurt much at all and is actually pretty satisfying in a weird way! (But then Im one of those weirdos who enjoys picking out a splinter or an ingrown hair!!!!) Sorry TMI!! Also it helps to take the needles out of the fridge beforehand for some reason. Kribby's suggestion about icing the area you are going to inject works too (I did that when I had to have clexane which was more ouchy) but didnt really need to with the IVF pens. The needles are tiny and the 'pen' makes it feel less like an injection I reckon. The trigger injection LOOKS scarier but it really doesnt hurt much at all. You will be fine ladies
    Me 34 DH 36 TTC 4 years, then IVF # 1 Oct / Nov 09 Chem Preg 9 Eggs 1 fert. June '10 cycle cancelled cyst, pill 1 month, Sep '10 Full stim ICSI cycle, 7 Eggs, 5 mature, 4 fert, ET 16/9 1 frostie DS born 6/11

Kribby - Welcome, I am sure you will find this forum useful and entertaining!!

TTWC - good luck and that it is implantation and I hope you dont go too crazy during the TWW. Yaya for great emby number!

Penn - good luck with your TWW also, hoe it is not draggin too much

2nd - did they lower your dose this time? I am on 125puregon due to risk of OHSS but I didn't get it last time and hope not this time

Monkey - you will be fine with the jabbing, the puregon needle doesn't hurt at all and the other one is only a little thicker and at the end of the day it is for a great reason so you manage

Jay - good advice about the breathing, I am nt squeamish at all but DH faints at the sight of blood so I do all my own injections too.

Afm: Had U/S and blood today and lining is 13mm and 8 follies on either side so hoping that this is third time lucky for us. EPU is on Wed and had my trigger inj tonight so very excited. We had 17 eggs last time so this time I hope there will be a few less. They think transfer will be Monday but it will depend on if any embys make it to blasto or not. Very bloated at the moment though and look about 5 months preggers already.

Good luck everyone else
    Me 36 DH 35
    ICIS Apr 2010 stim cycle - BFN, Oct 2010 - BFN , Jan 2011 stim cycle - BFN , Mar 2011 -

Moneyrock and second- no worries for the safety net heads up!! and second it would be awesome if we could get it all back haha

Second- for now I have a fib planned for work and I really don't care if they have a problem! it's if it doesn't work the first few times ( that doesn't happen) then I'll have to start thinking of what to do! My manager knows I have to do ivf but not that I'm actually doing it because she's a blabber mouth and I can't trust her and well it's just complicated and too hard to explain as there's heaps of other factors that come in to play where I work! good luck with everything

TTWC- :fingerscrossd: for you! I had an implant show last time and freaked but all ended up okies dokie!

Penn- I've compared the success rates and they are definitely lower. but not by too much. And really being only a MFI issue (there's me with PCOS but that dIdNt make any difference last time) I figured we'd give them a go. There's a huge difference in $$. And I'm only 26 so no age issue either I dunno I guess money shouldn't matter but it does when you don't have much and have no access to it for at least 2.5yrs because I stupidly locked in our mortgage! Haha I figure with them I can afford to go at it all year with the others it'd only be a few then we'd be all out. Anyway there's my financial history

Winzy- I'm odd like that too!!! I love the pain I get after a really hard gym workout! I hate it because I can't move too quicklybut I love the feeling of streching! Anyway the trigger omg as all my meds were stored at my parents house I kept imagining the needle getting thicker and thicker until I had myself convinced it was as thick as ball point pen and the trigger is ok in the end because it was a different cut needle so it actually goes in a bit easier I found! Clexane is awful!!! I was given that after DD was born and OMG it stings like hell I would always ask the nurses to go away haha

MB74- thanks for the welcome I love it already and tbh this time I think I need the support as I'm telling far fewer people! Good luck with your EPU wed!!!

Morning girls!

Timewillcome - its getting comfy

Moo, Jay & Winzy - with jabbing myself I had a vision of closing my eyes, and stabbing my hand instead

Mayby - no it was still 125 Puregon, exactly the same, but last time I had 11 or 14 eggs (I cant remember) and ended up with slight OHSS, but FS said we would do the same this cycle and see how we go? so to get mayby 4-5 eggs this cycle is a bit weird but trying to look at the positive. Im hearing you with the swallon belly but mine isnt as bad as last time, im just getting back aches now and some pulling. Goodluck with EPU and it all goes well

Kribby - if you can find a cheaper option - go for it!! If it was only 1 cycle cost it wouldnt be that bad, but as its the unknown you have to count every penny

AFM - Been working extra at work to get more money to pay for all this but it will be worth it. Im a bit Aprehnsive about the fact that we have a lot less follies then last time but just trying to focus on is that we only need 1 good one . Dh said he prefers this cycle as Im not in so much pain and not been so much of a biatch
    DH 33 and Me 33, DS1 - 6 and DS2 - 16months

TTC Oct 08 - m/c Aug 09, ICSI Sept 10 = BFN, FET Nov 10 - 2 failed thaws. ICSI Jan 11 = early m/c - March 11 - 2 embies trf, ended up with DS2

Kribby - welcome , this is a really supportive thread to be a part of. The ladies here have helped me so much over the past year. Good luck with your ivf journey for bub number 2 .
    Second - good luck at epu on Friday, I hope the lucky emby is there for you. I'll keep my fingers crossed that this is the successful cycle.

Penn - How are you surviving the 2ww? I'm sending lots of your way.

Maybebaby - wishing you lots of luck at epu on Wednesday. I hope you get some quality eggs and that at least 1 becomes your bub.

Moo - I've always done my own injections and it's been fine. It was really only the very 1st time that I was nervous and once I'd done it I was shocked at how easy it was. I agree with Winzy about the Clexane though that was very ouchy but the Pregnyl, Ovidrel and Puregon have all been painless. (Only hurt once or twice with puregon when I hit a vein - a bit of advice - if it hurts going in, pull it out straight away and find another spot cos you've prob hit a vein) Good luck , but I'm sure you'll be fine

TTWC - it's implantation cramps. Sorry if you've already said but is this a fresh transfer or a frozen? Good luck for a happy outcome at the end of the 2ww.

Hi to everyone I missed, . afm, I have my endo biopsy and hysteroscopy this morning - I'll head in soon. I'm feeling a bit nervous which is weird, after 4 EPU's you'd think I'd be use to the sedation and poking around by now , maybe it's because I'm at a new clinic now and things will be different there. Anyway I'll pop back later if I'm not too sore.

Have a great day
    DP Me + our little miracle born at 24 weeks & 4 days - such a strong little man (from ICSI cycle 10) + our much loved furbaby .

7. The Following User Says Thank You to lilybaby For This Useful Post:

second baby not so easy (18-01-2011)

Lily....just wanted to wish you the best for your hyst/endo biopsy today. The theatre nurses at Repro are lovely & will take good care of you Sounds like it's all systems go & shouldn't be too much longer before Dr T will have you in for EPU etc I can't help but be sooooo excited for you. With the new specialist & his fantastic protocol he'll have you UTD within a couple of cycles Im guessing

Maybebaby & 2nd......wishing you both all the best for your coming EPU's & hoping & praying this will be the lucky cycle for you both xxx

Moo....Im kinda weird I guess for thinking so but I actully found the needles to be quite relaxing similar to accupuncture!?! I did get DH to do them all though.

Kribby.....welcome & as lily said you will find loads of support on this thread. Sorry I can't help you in regards to flinders as we went through Repro but going by your age & history Id say definatly go for it

Hi to all the newbies I haven't mentioned also. Im on my ph ATM & typing from memory only which isn't the greatest. Will chat to you all again soon as I like to keep in touch with you all & offer any support I possibly can. Keeping you all in my thoughts & prayers xxxxx

9. The Following User Says Thank You to digbyleigh For This Useful Post:

lilybaby (18-01-2011)

Thanks Digby, everything went really well and the nurses were all so nice. FS came in and said everything went ok but I was a bit out of it at the time, I see him again on Monday so will find out more then. Just relaxing at the moment, I had a nap for 2 hours when I got home and think I'll be back in bed again soon, feeling a bit sore.
    I hope you are well and the MS has settled down for you. Take care
    DP Me + our little miracle born at 24 weeks & 4 days - such a strong little man (from ICSI cycle 10) + our much loved furbaby .

Lilybaby - It was a fresh cycle. How did the biopsy go? Not too painful I hope.

The embryologist call today to update us on the freezing results. Add 2 more to our frostie lot. That makes 5 Grade 1 day 4 embie and 2 Grade 2 day 5 embie. Hope we woun't need to use them anytime soon.

Lilybaby: So glad to hear your op went well today and they can get you cycling with your new protocol soon.

The Time Will Come: Hurrah for so many top quality embies! Lucky you! Hopefully the extra ones will be able to be brothers and sisters in the future
    Me 34 DH 36 TTC 4 years, then IVF # 1 Oct / Nov 09 Chem Preg 9 Eggs 1 fert. June '10 cycle cancelled cyst, pill 1 month, Sep '10 Full stim ICSI cycle, 7 Eggs, 5 mature, 4 fert, ET 16/9 1 frostie DS born 6/11