Default Clothes for winter bub??

OK, So DH are expecting a little boy in June and Im trying to get some things together and get organised. But...Im stumped...i dont know what i should be getting. So, for the ladies that have had winter bubs (or even if you havent) What clothes should i get. Do i need to get some short sleeved things? What clothes did you get for your winter bub?

We are in brisbane btw
    He (28) Me(25)
    Miss M - 20 September 2009
    Mr O - 30 May 2011

Im the same as u, as both my other children and sep-oct so no need for winter clothes. this time bub is a may bub

All my sisters have said who have had march, may n august babys

is singlets, wondersuits, socks. in really winter maybe a jacket and pants to go over top of wonder suit

But im just going with winter jump suits as bub will be wrapped and have a blanket, and when winter comes more had singlet.

Ill be watching this thread as well as i would be interested in what else we can put on bub
    Me + DH =
    DD - 4
    DS - 2
    DS2 - 5/5/11

3. The Following User Says Thank You to ~*clairesmum*~ For This Useful Post:

LeighB (18-01-2011)

This might be a silly idea, but you could look at northern hemisphere sales that are possibly on at the moment? Being in Brisbane though it might not be suitable.

I'm in the same boat as you.. I don't know what's needed.

5. The Following User Says Thank You to Stampy For This Useful Post:

LeighB (18-01-2011)

I found that the bonds wondersuits were the best...although my little fatty couldn't fit in his one for very long...and they are roughly around $10-$20 each! But they have built in feet, and on the ends of the sleeves they have this neat little built in mitten thing that you can fold over and cover your bubs hands or fold it back and it looks just like a cuff!

But you'll also need socks, beanies and singlets. But in Brisbane you may not need to invest in many winter clothes. Bibs cover spillages and if you keep putting clean ones on you should be able to only go through one set of clothes per day...fingers crossed! Depending on weather conditions - because we all know summer didn't turn out like we all had guessed! - you may only need summer clothing with jackets and other small winter items etc etc. That way the wardrobe is extended.
    Me 23 Him 28

Macaulie 06/12/2009 @ 10lbs 3ozs

Kaylee 12/03/2011 @ 8lbs 8ozs

M is a june bub and he lived in singlet-wondersuit-socks underneath. If we went out I put a little jumper /cardi over the top. He seemed to live in a blanket. He even slept with a tracksuit over his jumpsuit but it is bluddy freezing here in winter. Unlike Brissy I imagine.

I'd definitelt go all in ones and little cardi's/jumpers for Cletus
    ...busy growing our happy ending

8. The Following User Says Thank You to Electric Rodeo For This Useful Post:

LeighB (18-01-2011)

I'm having a June bub and i have bought heaps of long sleeved long legged, with the feet in (i hate chasing babies socks) suits. Plus singlets. . .

Have bought a few winter weight velour / velvety suits for outings and visitors etc . . .

HEAPS of wraps including travel ones so bub can be taken from car seat to pram to inside etc etc without being unwrapped. . .

My favourite purchase arrived yesterday though. . . bought a couple of NZ merino wool sleeping bag type suits. Such fine soft wool and so soft . . . will be so much more breathable than anything else i've bought and EASY PEASY for night time nappy changes. Check out baby caterpillar and Mokopuna. i bought some things from the sleep store online in NZ and they arrived in a couple of days and are just gorgeous !!!

I should add that this is my first baby so i'm really just flying blind!!! hahaha I did nanny in the UK about a lifetime ago though and am just trying to think about what i found useful and easy to work with etc . . .

10. The Following User Says Thank You to cocosmum For This Useful Post:

LeighB (18-01-2011)

I had a winter baby, and found wondersuits were great, so stock up on heaps in size 0000 and 000, as well as the target long sleeve & long leg all in ones.
    Long sleeve bodysuits are good and you can put them with leggings, and socks or booties.

I bought a few cardigans and jackets/snow suit type suits but they never got used as whenever we would take DS out the house as a newborn we would just put him in a wondersuit/target suit and then wrap him in a flannelette wrap with a blanket. It was never cold enough to need those really thick suits, and the jackets never got used because he was still being wrapped.

I never bought any short sleeved things. We had some singlets but they just went under suits.

So I would buy:

- Wondersuits
    - All in one suits (cotton ones, and maybe some nice velour-look ones)
    - Leggings/warm pants
    - Long sleeved tops/bodysuits
    - Singlets
    - Socks
    - Booties
    - Beanies
    - Warm flanellette wraps

If you don't mind second hand, you can buy wondersuits pretty cheap from Ebay.

Good luck
    Me (24) DP (30)
    DD (22/02/2007)
    DS (19/05/2009)
    Surprise baby! Due August 2011

DS was a July baby and he basically lived in -
    Bonds wondersuits
    Long all in one suits
    Singlets
    A few cardigan/jacket type things for going out.
    Beanies (again, for when we went out)
    Socks (though to be honest not many, I usually bought suits with the 'feet' in them IYKWIM)
    Leggings/track pants and t shirts for the days that it wasn't as cold (just add jacket if you're going out)
    Lots of bunny rugs/wraps etc.

I'm the opposite. My first was a winter baby and now number two is due in September. Is it worth buying any winter-y clothes ? Or just short sleeves ? I have no idea! (I'm in Brisbane too)
    Mrs. 21 Mr. 21
    My Busy Toddler & Bubba #2 on the way.

13. The Following User Says Thank You to tinynosetinytoes For This Useful Post:

LeighB (18-01-2011)

Oh I forgot to say be aware of the small sizes in wondersuits! Always buy bigger than you need so they will grow into them. Try not to buy the 0000 instead opt for 000 because in 0000 you will only get a few weeks out of them! Unless you have a premie baby it is not worth the waste!
    Me 23 Him 28

Macaulie 06/12/2009 @ 10lbs 3ozs

Kaylee 12/03/2011 @ 8lbs 8ozs

15. The Following User Says Thank You to Caszie87 For This Useful Post:

LeighB (18-01-2011)

tinynosetinytoes- i found september a really hard month to buy for. We had DD in short sleeves during the day mostly and then all in one suits at night. We had to guy clothes for all seasons because it was so all over the place. Having said that, that was brissie weather and the states further south are probably still rather chilly.

Thanks everyone for your replies! I think i will skip the short sleeves. I have a couple of unisex from DD that i can use if need be. I'll just have to buy some long pants and Jackets now and a few more wondersuits i think. oh, and beanies and socks... so pretty much everything

Caszie- i found the same with the wondersuits too. DD was tiny when she was born tho and in 00000 most clothes and 0000 wondersuits were still a little long on her. hopefully that will be the case this time too.
    He (28) Me(25)
    Miss M - 20 September 2009
    Mr O - 30 May 2011