AM is offline Winner 2009 - Mod Award - most supportive member
    Question those who don't question authority

Smile Making your own liquid fertilizers.

I have been reading up on this lately, and I feel surrounded by things I can make liquid fert from now, I don't think I'll ever be buying fertilizer again

1. Comfrey - Get a comfrey bush and strip the leaves from it, (1/2 a kilo of leaves) and cover in a 10L bucket water, the water will go a very dark colour, best to cover it, as it will smell a bit when it is ready to use, but is great when you dilute it down, (1 part comfrey liquid : 25 parts water) and spray it on your garden as a liquid feed. It contains lots of potassium (very important for flower and fruit growth), calcium, trace elements as well as Vit B1, B2, B3, B12

Confrey does tend to pop up and wander, so if you don't have a large area for it to grow in, put it in a pot. Comfrey is also GREAT in your compost heap, it helps to 'activate' it. I used to every now and then strip my bush back to a few leaves, and just scatter them evenly on the compost heap and then gently water if the heap was dry.

2. Seaweed - This is one of natures super liquid fertilizers. Gather seaweed where you can find it, as many different types as possible as they all contain different varieties of goodies, then wash it well to get rid of the worst of the salt. Place in a bucket or barrel and cover with water, and leave to steep until it turns a dark colour, you can smell it, and it starts to bubble a little.

Dilute the liquid 1:10 and spray over plants or just water with it.

Seaweed fertilizer also will help your plants to be less prone to frosts.

3. Dandelion tea - You can gather dandelion plants and boil them up to make a 'tea' which can then be cooled and used to water over your plants.

Any others to suggest?
    Homebirthing full term breastfeeding mama to three gorgeous boys

Having a two-year-old is like having a blender that you don't have the top for. ~Jerry Seinfeld

threechooks is offline If my spelling annoys you that's your problem.... I have better things to do than proofread !
    worm wee = from a worm farm, should be diluted.

3. The Following User Says Thank You to threechooks For This Useful Post:

AM (11-12-2010)

oh yeah, that stuff is awesome, I started a whole thread about worms!!

Having a two-year-old is like having a blender that you don't have the top for. ~Jerry Seinfeld

BabushkaMumma is offline Mothering with my whole heart as thats what my girls have given me.
    I have a worm farm that has a tap at the bottom and I just fill up my watering can and it goes straight on the veges - but I water my worms once a week so a lot of the liquid is that water...

you recon I still need to dilute that??

Sent from my iPhone using Bub Hub
    Three little DD's all in a row, each one making my heart grow.
    Passionate Babywearer.
    Extended / tandem breastfeeder.
    Blessed bedsharer.
    Bliss.

6. The Following User Says Thank You to BabushkaMumma For This Useful Post:

AM (11-12-2010)

Quote Originally Posted by SaffiAva View Post
    I have a worm farm that has a tap at the bottom and I just fill up my watering can and it goes straight on the veges - but I water my worms once a week so a lot of the liquid is that water...

you recon I still need to dilute that??
    Yeah, everything I've read on worm farms says you always dilute it. I water my worms occassionally, but I try to make sure I do it only when they need it, (I check the condition of the soil) and put only enough water in to create conditions similar to a squeezed out sponge, i try not to water it so it drips out the bottom, so the worm liquid will be a strong as possible at the end of the day.

BabushkaMumma is offline Mothering with my whole heart as thats what my girls have given me.
    Coolies thanx for that advice..my top tray is much more drier that the bottom so I mainly do it for the top tray...

Thanks again!!

Sent from my iPhone using Bub Hub
    Three little DD's all in a row, each one making my heart grow.
    Passionate Babywearer.
    Extended / tandem breastfeeder.
    Blessed bedsharer.
    Bliss.

9. The Following User Says Thank You to BabushkaMumma For This Useful Post:

AM (15-12-2010)

We use cow manure thats soaked in water until it becomes liquid and its great for vege gardens.

11. The Following User Says Thank You to Ready To Run For This Useful Post:

AM (15-12-2010)

Does anyone have any recipe use chook poo?

Quote Originally Posted by Ready To Run View Post
    We use cow manure thats soaked in water until it becomes liquid and its great for vege gardens.
    We have access to heaps of cow poo at the block
    "Destiny is not a matter of chance, but of choice;
    it is not a thing to be waited for, it is a thing to be achieved."