Thread: a few questions

Default a few questions

From about the age of 13 till around 17 I was a christian... and then from around the age of 17 I seemed to of dipped out of the church for my own personal reasons..

Id love to go back into the church, but I don't want to give up my life I have now.... I love going to the footy,watching my v8's,having the odd few drinks and listening to non religious music...

my question is if I went back to church would I still be able to do the same things or not??

yea for sure! Just find one that thinks its not a "sin" to do those things...
    Bellarella 21

I went to a catholic high school, so we went to the catholic church every month or so for a service.

Being high school students, the majority of us didn't exactly 'stick' with all the requirements of being catholics.

However, we all still went to church.

I enjoyed going to services and listening to the priest give talks. I always found it interesting.

I'm not sure i'm really "allowed" to go into church if i don't stick to every catholic rule though... i hope so... because i'd love to again one day

Hmmm my dads a catholic and has been divorced a fair few times...he still goes to church
    Bellarella 21

I listen to Matellica and the likes, drink alcohol (occasionally) even have the od flutter on the pokies (once every 5 blue moons...lol), I swear sometimes too , but everyone is welcome in God's house. That is what we go there for, pray to him for forgiveness, help, or for whatever reason. I have not been to church since the day we got married (nearly 2 yrs ago ) but I still pray. You don't have to go to church every week to love God, and you don't have to obey all the 'old rules' I think society has changed alot and the church is very accepting of different walks of life. We are all God's children, he loves and accepts us all.
    If you feel you want to return to church, go! You can still keep the life you have today, God will still love you.
    to you Mandy.
    "God doesn't give children with special needs to strong people; He gives children with special needs to ordinary, weak people and then gives them strength.
    Raising a child with Down syndrome doesn't TAKE a special family, it MAKES a special family."

*Birth and post natal Doula*

Why would you not be able to do those things? There is nothing to say you can't!

Well if there is I haven't read/heard of it and I am in a lot of trouble
    Eliza - April 06
    Jeremiah - June 08
    Theodore - September 10

Ofcourse you can!!! Well i do and i am the ministers daughter and my hubby is a drummer!!!!

Smile yep

yep of course you can! its fine, i occasionally listen to non-christian music(once in blue moon!) and have a drink occasionally, dont worry, its fine.
    hope you enjoy going back to church!

We enjoy all those things in our house (okay, so Eden doesn't drink heehee) and we are leaders in various groups in our church! You go for it, Mandy. God never said "Thou shalt have no life"!!! In fact, He said the opposite. ".....but I have come that they might have life and have it to the full" (John 10:10) Woohoo. That sounds good to me.
    Love,
    Nan. xx
    Me (34) DH Shane (36)
    DD Eden 21/11/05 & DS Caleb 29/11/07
    Levi has arrived!! 9/11/10

Quote Originally Posted by ~EmsMum~ View Post

my question is if I went back to church would I still be able to do the same things or not??
    I say, why not?
    My hubby and I go to Church most Sundays. We are quite active.
    We don't drink, or smoke, but we haven't changed our lifestyle. There is no way i am going to stop listening to my music. And hubby likes death metal "Isn't that devil music?" It comes down to your belief, I think. !
    I don't like to be judged but I can't tell ppl not to judge me. All I can say is, The Lord knows your heart and that is more important than setting up a pretty picture for others to look at.
    Mama to 5 T 12y, N 8y, A 6y and free bub J 3y D is here too!
    As normal as life can get