Default What has your DH/DP done to make you proud....

.... in relation to parenting choices/styles?

My DH made a comment yesterday in regard to me still BFing my 13mnth old....

He has never really taken much of an invested interest in my BFing- it's never been an issue, but he's never really encouraged it either- just happy to go with the flow.

But last night we were out with some friends- mostly a footy crowd (his mates and their partners, all really nice people but none with children yet)- for dinner, and it was getting late and DS2 was getting grizzly.... I had avoided feeding him as I was aware of making some of the crowd a tad uncomfortable, and he was easily amused in other ways anyway.... and DH asked me why I wasn't going to feed him- I told him that I didn't want to make the boys uncomfortable, and he was really supportive of me "whipping the boob out" despite what anyone else might think- and that "he (meaning DS) isn't *that* old yet", and that he would deal with anyone who had a problem with it.

It really made me so proud that he had this attitude.... I've never had any intentions of weaning DS at this stage, and not for quite some time to come yet- but had never really had the discussion with DH how he felt about it- I know pre children he certainly would have found it odd to see someone still feeding their 12mnth old... but I love that I know I have his full support and backing for however long I need it.

Just a little thing- but it made a big difference to me....

So share- what attitude shift has your DP had that has made you proud?
    "Between the innocence of babyhood and the dignity of manhood,
    we find a delightful creature of a boy
    ."

My Boys ~DH ~ Nedd 5 ~ Harry 3 ~ My Life

despite me being on mat leave from a fairly high paid job to have DS, DH has agreed that if i choose to resign and be a SAHM, he will fully support my decision even though it would mean moving from the house we are in now in an area we love, to a house with a smaller mortgage in an area much further out from the city.

he "just wants me and our son to be happy" and for our son to have the best childhood experience possible - whether that's achieved through me going back to work or being a SAHM.

Me 33 DH 33 DS 1 DS 2

My DP is not my son's biological father but he has taken the role wonderfully, more than I could have ever imagined.

I was looking at schools in my local area to book DS in for next year and DP wanted to come and he was really involved in the whole thing.

He often gets up in the middle of the night if DS calls out and I don't hear.

He looks after DS when he's sick and I need to go to work.

He picks DS up from kindy if I want to go late night shopping.

All of these things I would expect from a father. My DP is so freaking lovely and he often tells me he wishes DS was his I really wish he was too!!

I'm so proud of how he's handled going from a bachelor to being a father figure to a toddler, now a young boy.
    some people are so poor, all they have is money

I am so happy that my dh is so pro breastfeeding. Alot of his friends babies ate formula fed so the dads get to give bub a bottle which I know my dh would love to do but he tells me how happy he is that our dd is breastfed. He has also stood up to his own mother who formula fed all of her kids and thinks we should do the same to ours. I think I would have given up long ago without his support!

This isn't really a parenting choice but I'm proud never the less

DP has changed every single pooey nappy for over 12 months unless of course he isn't around, then I do it. That isn't often anyway

I can't handle DSs poo, I'm so proud DP does it with no complaints

Hearing DP chat to his clients about how great homebirthing is really makes me all pink and gooey with pride.

As did hearing him say to me when I was in a funk about getting nothing on my list done that day:

"Don't feel bad that you haven't done much today - it's really time consuming and hard work just getting meals on the table and keeping Rocketman happy, let alone doing all that with a baby in your arms as well. Why don't you just relax and go easy on yourself, you're doing a great job."

Quote Originally Posted by ANonnyMouse View Post
    As did hearing him say to me when I was in a funk about getting nothing on my list done that day:

"Don't feel bad that you haven't done much today - it's really time consuming and hard work just getting meals on the table and keeping Rocketman happy, let alone doing all that with a baby in your arms as well. Why don't you just relax and go easy on yourself, you're doing a great job."
    DH is the same. just before DS was born i was saying how i'll feel bad with him being at work all day. he looked at me and asked why would i feel bad, when, although not being paid for it, i'm still working anyway?

he also insists every night after coming home from work on taking DS and sending me away to take some time out.
    Me 33 DH 33 DS 1 DS 2

DH insisting on working overtime so I dont have to go back to work because he thinks me being home with DD is more important than money.

Also defending me when people think im some kind of hippy mother nature for doing BLW, demand feeding even though DD is FF, cloth nappies, amber teething necklace, etc.

Aww our other halves are beautiful!
    Me Him
    My Hearing Impaired Bubbas
    DD 17.11.09DS 4.3.11
    One in every 1,000 babies has significant hearing loss.

loving these examples

My Dp has made some absolutely wonderful parenting choices. He's gone from a young man who was too scared to hold a baby to a loving father and supportive partner.
    The first thing that made me proud was insisting to his mother at 2 months pregnant that NO we are not considering an abortion and she best get her head around that.
    The second was defending my choice to breastfeed even when it was tough and everyone was telling me to formula feed. He was very supportive. (and worth it in the end as we BF for 2 years )
    He has also changed his mind on smacking. He just assumed he would do what his parents did...but after talking about it and reading some articles we have decided that our children will not be smacked (this is big as his parents think smacking is nessisary to raising a child).
    The most recent one still amazes me...he is supporting my choice to HOMEBIRTH!! (this is a man who told me in my first pregnancy to get the epi straight away!) Im so impressed that he's open to this way of birthing. And he's even told his friends!

I love that he's listened...researched...then made up his mind on these issues. And the reward is a son who is absolutely besotted with his daddy
    Me He
    Cheeky Monkey DS(2)
    Gorgeous Girl 22/12/2010 - Proudly Homebirthed!

DP did EVERY SINGLE night feed for DS until he started sleeping through at 10 weeks old. He would go to bed at 10ish, wake up at 2am to feed bub and then get up and go to work at 4:30am. He never ever complained.

He is enrolling to go back to study next year to do a course that will allow us the stability and salary to live very very comfortably. He hates studying but knows that by doing this he will ultimately benefit us all and thats enough for him.

He is such a hands on dad, really loves spending time with his bub and does whatever I ask him to do in regards to helping me around the house.

I am very proud of how far he has come and who he has become.