Chicky Pea is offline aka 31andReady!!! (I'm not 31 anymore...ha ha!)

Default Food affecting breastmilk

I'm currently in the midst of a no dairy test to see whether it is affecting my breastmilk, therefore affecting DD and her possible wind, reflux etc. I've been told to cut out dairy for 10 days, then reintroduce it and see if it makes a difference. I've cut it out for over a week now and it seems to be going well.

But this afternoon DD had a bit of a unsettled fit showing the signs of being in pain that she was showing over a week ago, so I'm starting to think it could be sometthing else, like the glass of OJ I had with brekkie this morning, as I've heard citrus is also on the bad list.

So! My question is, how long does it take for the foods that affect bubs to enter your breastmilk? The same day? The next?

TBH, I'm REALLY hoping it's not dairy. Dairy is hard to cut out completely , so I have my fingers crossed it could be the juice.

Anyway, any advice would be appreciated...thanks!
    We made it to one year with our sanity (just) in tact!

*Me, DP and Lily makes three*

BabyPaparazzi is offline Children are constantly changing, Parent as constantly adapting
    From what I have been told, foods that your bub has an intolerance to will affect them app 6 hours after you eat it. This is taking into account the time it takes your body to digest it and enter you system, then cross over into your milk.

I am on a dairy free diet, it looks like DD2 has a cows milk protein/and lactose intolerance. Its not a new thing for us, DD1 was intolerant till 14 months. Both cases it was likely caused by a bout of gastro, DD1 was 7 months, DD2 was only 3 months.

Besides the wind/reflux, is there any other issues with her stools? Same babies will have a small milk intolerance, it can make them a tiny bit windy and cranky, but this is sometimes hard to tell when majority of babies will have these issues anyway. A baby with a worse intolerance will display it through issues in their stools as well.

Both of mine have had complete symptons, down to the clear green, completely liquid, frothy, with green flecks and jelly stools. My diet is down to having only small amounts of hard cheese such as tasty or mozzarella and only using zymil in coffee etc. If I need to place small amounts of cream in cooking, its lactose free (off the shelf in supermarket). DD2 is almost 7 months now, we have found a balance that works for both of us.

Majority of foods are okay to eat, most of the time its just a co-incidence, there is really no way of telling whether bubs got cranky because of what you ate, cause lets be honest, babies are random, they are sometimes cranky creatures just because. Unless you can gauge an exact pattern to the effect of a certain food, like by using an elimination diet, or a food diary, then eat what you want and enjoy a wide variety of food. I've been told heaps of times, don't each this or that, don't eat curry, don't eat certain vegetables, don't eat penuts, etc etc, if this was the case then babies in the countries where these are staple foods would be awfully in-content.
    ME (29) DF (27) DD1 (3 1/2 yr) DD2 (19mths)