Question Whats going on??

Yesterday and today I'm having difficulties keeping my 10 wk old bub on the breast. He's latching on, then pulling straight back off again. He's getting distressed, and I'm getting frustrated and concerned Bub does the 'latch on pull off' routine normally during a feed when he needs to be burped, but this is excessive and starts immediately when I attempt to feed. I'm beginning to worry he won't get enough fluid if this continues.

I'm pretty sure he started teething this last fortnight (excessive drooling, mouthing hands, inflamed gum) but up until yesterday he was feeding normally. He'll take a bottle of expressed milk fine, but not the breast. Maybe less work for him if it is his teeth bothering him?
    Unfortunately expressing is difficult for me so this is not really an option; I want bub on a bottle long term any way.

I have contacted my local lactation consultant, but she was in a meeting so not sure when I'll hear back from her. So in the mean time, any ideas / suggestions would be appreciated! Is this just teething or something else??

First time mum here, so feeling pretty clueless and helpless right now
    23.02.11 Surprise! EDD 21.10.11

06.06.10 Blessed with the most beautiful baby boy!

05.03.09 Forever in our heart 9wks 1d

DaughteroftheForest is offline Sometimes you have to forget what you want in order to remember what you deserve
    Hey, my DD did the same ting when she started teething and I was . But not to worry, he should get over it. Try Hylands teething tablets. They are a GODSEND in my house
    "I could only find single cans of Mother in the servo and was heaps annoyed cos it was going to cost me a fortune. But then I saw the four packs were on special up the front and was like 'Ha, screw you single mothers!' - Oh, wait..."

Funniest.
    Story.
    Ever.

Quote Originally Posted by DragonflyBreath View Post
    Hey, my DD did the same ting when she started teething and I was . But not to worry, he should get over it. Try Hylands teething tablets. They are a GODSEND in my house
    Thanks I hope he gets over...I had a few issues with breast feeding in the beginning. I'm desperate to continue b/feeding bub for as long as possible!!

I 2nd the Hylands teething tablets, they are great.

How often has he been having a bottle? It could be that he is getting frustrated that the breast is more work, maybe stop the bottle for a week or so, until he is settled back on the breast.

Goodluck.
    Mum to 3 gorgeous girls;
    DD1 10yrs DD2 8yrs
    DD3 4yrs!!

Life isn't about waiting for the storm to pass,
    it's about learning to dance in the rain!

Quote Originally Posted by SpottySocks View Post
    I 2nd the Hylands teething tablets, they are great.

How often has he been having a bottle? It could be that he is getting frustrated that the breast is more work, maybe stop the bottle for a week or so, until he is settled back on the breast.

Goodluck.
    Thanks spottysocks. Bub hardly ever has a bottle...as I said in my op, I'm not too good on the old pump I mostly reserve bottles for long car trips / days out...which are very few and far between these days lol.

Are Hylands tabs better than Brauers teething relief?

Yep, I didn't think the Braurs made any difference at all- couldn't even tell I'd used it.

The Hylands tablets seemed to work really well. I recently gave my 6 year old some because she was complaining about not being able to eat an apple cause her teeth ached, she's lost a couple and has a couple of loose teeth, 1/2 an hour later she was munching on an apple saying her teeth stopped hurting.

Sorry no other suggestions, hope you get him sorted out soon.

Goodluck!
    Mum to 3 gorgeous girls;
    DD1 10yrs DD2 8yrs
    DD3 4yrs!!

Life isn't about waiting for the storm to pass,
    it's about learning to dance in the rain!

Are you sure its not your let down being either to fast or to slow ? At 10 weeks your breasts are still sorting out the milk production plus bub will be having a growth spurt soon so he will be wanting to feed all day.

When my DD did this i held her in a different position or took her into the room and layed down to feed. After a while she sorted herself out.

The other thing i would do is watch what you are eating, some things cause wind in babies and they do the whole pulling off thing because their tummies are full of wind or something (common things that cause this are coke,cabbage,onion,garlic etc)

I would try a colic medicine first, i think 10 weeks is a little to soon to show true teething symptoms.
    DD1 14, DD2 8, DS 7, DS2 (Our Angel), DD3 3

Breast feeding, co sleeping, babywearing,BLW, TT, vaxxer

I would not be putting a teething tablet in a 10 week olds mouth, my son still choked on them at 8 months. If you think its teething put a little panadol/nurofen on your finger and rub where the front teeth would be. Ny son got his bottom 2 at 3 months

Quote Originally Posted by JabberJaw View Post
    Are you sure its not your let down being either to fast or to slow ? At 10 weeks your breasts are still sorting out the milk production plus bub will be having a growth spurt soon so he will be wanting to feed all day.

When my DD did this i held her in a different position or took her into the room and layed down to feed. After a while she sorted herself out.

The other thing i would do is watch what you are eating, some things cause wind in babies and they do the whole pulling off thing because their tummies are full of wind or something (common things that cause this are coke,cabbage,onion,garlic etc)

I would try a colic medicine first, i think 10 weeks is a little to soon to show true teething symptoms.
    Don't know about let down - if pumping is anything to go by (which I know it isn't) then I have virtually no let down

As for food, I've been very careful with what I am eating as bub does have a lot of wind. Have eliminated all dairy, 'windy' veges, carbonated drinks etc. Hasn't seemed to make much of a difference to bub though. Guess wheat products would be the next thing to look at.

I think 10 wks is too old for teeth too but the signs are there, mouthing, drooling, red gums. And looks like an eye tooth too - at least that's where there's a bulge and a little spot of white showing through the gum. Bub has seen a GP, jut to be sure it wasn't a sore throat or ear infection...all clear.

I would not be putting a teething tablet in a 10 week olds mouth, my son still choked on them at 8 months. If you think its teething put a little panadol/nurofen on your finger and rub where the front teeth would be. Ny son got his bottom 2 at 3 months
    Thanks kk88. I got some Hylands tabs - dissolving them before putting into bub's mouth as the risk of chocking does concern me. The tabs seem to help bub settle. I have Brauers teething relief but it did diddly squat

Bit of an update - spent half a day with the lactation consultant last week and was given a few pointers with regards to positioning bub a little better when breastfeeding. Holding bub a little differently did seem to make a bit of a difference fir one or two feeds, but he still continues to pull off, is totally restless at the breast and becomes distressed (pain?) trying to feed. I am at my wits end I've come to dread feed times; it feels like a constant battle, especially with bub throwing himself around and crying...we both generally end up in tears So frustrating - he wants to feed but can't (?) and I don't know how to help him. Atm I just feel so tired and desperate for some help / answers before I completely go insane I don't want to give up breastfeeding, but I don't think I can continue on like this for too much longer.

I've totally modified my diet (no dairy, soy, windy foods, etc etc.), we've had bub to see a paed, GP's at our local health clinic, baby health nurse and lactation consultant and still no joy. We wondered if it could be early teething, one doc says yes, another no. I personally suspect reflux - definitely there is a huge wind issue going on - but because bub looks healthy and (to date) has been gaining weight...I'm just an over anxious mum Somethings going on and I'm at a loss to know how to handle it Is it a problem with bub? A problem with me????

What to do????? Have an appointment with another paed today for a second opinion. I hope he can help. Any suggestions as to questions I should be asking?? I just want to breastfeed my baby, and I want my baby to be able to feed in a calm and happy manner.

Sorry for the scroller...it's been a hellish few weeks and I'm feeling pretty down