+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks
    Reviews

Default HELP! NSW Temporary Teacher

Hi all..... needing some advice and assistance from those who know.....

I'm currently teaching temporary p/t (2 days) for this year and my contact ends Dec 17 (last day of school). My due date is 2nd Jan and am wondering if I am entitled to any mat leave?

So far I am led to believe if the due date is outside your engagement period (which it is by 2 weeks-ish) you're not entitled to anything...... I've been working there for 3 years and this hardly seems fair???

Mod-Nomsie is offline Administrator
    Winner 2009/10/11/12/13 - Most helpful Moderator
    Winner 2011 - Naughtiest/Cheekiest Mod
    Winner - Quickest 'Thanker' on the Hub
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 postsEmerald Star - 10,000 postsRuby Star - 15,000 postsDiamond Star - 20,000 posts
    Awards:
    200 Posts in a week100 Posts in a weekBusiest Member of the Week - week ended 15/1/15
    I'm going off my knowledge of the Vic Edu system... but are you contracted? Or just on an 'agreement', meaning you are paid CRT rates? If the latter, I wouldn't think you are entitled to anything.

If you are contracted, in Vic you must take leave 6 weeks before your due date.

IDK whether that helps or not, sorry!

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 postsEmerald Star - 10,000 postsRuby Star - 15,000 posts
    I don't think a temporary gets any paid leave anyway, but you are entitled to return to your position after maternity leave. Perhaps ring the union and ask them or the department of education will help you!

If your baby is born on or after 1st January, you'll ge the paid parental leave from the government.

Thanks
    Reviews
    Quote Originally Posted by Nomsie View Post