+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Thanks
    Reviews

Default complete failure of fertilisation

Hi this is my first post, but I would really appreciate any advice or stories of similar experiences.

I am anovulatory, my ovaries look polycystic, so I have been undergoing OI for the last six months, without success. Last month my response to the puregon was over-the-top, with heaps of follicles (after months of growing nothing), so we decided to convert to IVF.

I had ten mature eggs at pickup, and my husbands semen analysis had previously been fine.

So the day after pickup I got a call to say none of the ten eggs had fertilised.

I just am so disappointed, and don't understand why, when we thought the reason for our infertility was that I didn't ovulate, now there is another problem.

Has anyone else had this experience, and can you let me know what you did, and how things went? I guess we'll have to try ICSI next.

Thank you.

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts
    Hi Cloudy
    Out of all my ivf cycles, I have had only 1 time where no fertilisation happened...now we do ICSI to avoid that happening again!!!
    Good Luck!

Thanks
    Reviews
    Hi Cloudy,
    this happened to me on my first cycle with 11 eggs. Devastating. For the second cycle I did ICSI and got a good fert rate. PHEW that was a relief, I was holding my breath for over 24 hours.

FS said I may have an inherited genetic issue, with my eggs not having all the enzymes and proteins necessary to set off the sperm binding process. Having said that, it's usually caused by a male/sperm issue, ie. a lack of acrosome binding receptors/enzymes (semen analysis can't detect this, only fertilisation attempts can).

ICSI is the way round it. I wish all clinics did ICSI as default (some in the USA do) as it is really hard to come down so hard so quickly with no warning.

Hope you feel better soon.

Thanks
    Reviews