Last edited by maplewattle; 16-10-2009 at 22:13. Reason: No one responded. :(
Just noticed this thread and how out of date it is - I expect all previous posters have had their bubs and are probably not logging in so much.
Just curious if there are any canucks out there and in the odd situation of being pregnant for the first time while being away from "home"? I've been in Melbourne for four and half years and am married to a great Aussie and do make my home here now, but this is the first time I have really felt homesick for Vancouver now that I am pregnant (due jan 2011). Would be great to connect with anyone else in a similar situation, particularly if you are in Melbs and may be keen for a cuppa somewhere in the city down the line!
Hey!!!
I am from Toronto... just had my first bub in May. It is alot tougher being away from home now. My mum and sister were just here, and I am planning on going for a visit in November, but it's just not the same! I have lived here for 5 years now, but am hoping to move back to Canada in 2013
Me (27)DH (28)
Peyton Kymberley- born May 28th 2010
Mackenzie Fiona- born September 18th 2012
2nd Year Deakin Nursing Student
cdninWA (13-12-2010)
This is exactly what I needed!
Just found out I'm pregnant last week. My fiance and I are in Australia until 2013 while he studies... mostly I got sick of long distance relationship and moved here. But now I find I'm really torn... do I stay with him and have baby here or do I go home where I have friends and family? I really don't know people here despite having been here a year. The other big thing for me would be going back to full health coverage (thank God for OHIP) as opposed to paying out of pocket for everything.
That all said, if I go home, he wouldn't even meet our baby until he graduates or I come back.
So how do you figure all this out?! How do you decide if you stay in Aus or go back home?
We're in Brissie now, I'm from rural Ontario and he's from TO
Stick it out hun... you will meet people through mothers group and antenatal classes, and it will be worth it to be a family with your partner. What visa are you here on?? PM me anytime, or add me on facebook. I am Kristen Bainbridge. Where in Ontario are you from?? I am from rural ONT too.
Me (27)DH (28)
Peyton Kymberley- born May 28th 2010
Mackenzie Fiona- born September 18th 2012
2nd Year Deakin Nursing Student
I'm here! I'm here!!been in Australia since 2004, married an Aussie. Expecting first baby in Sept. Both parents coming over for 3 weeks from my due date. Have been back twice and every year I haven't been there either both parents or just my mom has been out. Miss them but love it here & staying. Planning on going back January-ish. From Alberta.
I'm so slow getting back to this.
I'm from an hour North of Guelph - Listowel area. We decided I'd stay here, but I'm still really, really struggling. We got minimal health insurance but I haven't been able to find a GP. My mum can't come over for the birth (she's a teacher - I'm due her first day back to school haha) but she's sending a package of stuff over, and then we'll go home for Christmas in November. I don't think she'll ever forgive me for choosing to stay here though... every time we talk she begs me to change my mind. But I figure this is my partner's baby moreso than hers and he deserves to be there for the birth.
Borealis, when are you due? I'm due Sept. 5.
Does anyone know how all the paperwork stuff works for a baby born abroad? I assume they get an Aussie birth certificate and then I have to apply for a certificate of Canadian Citizenship and passport and SIN and OHIP card and all that jazz? I'm hoping that won't take too long because we're hoping to go home when baby is 2-3 months old!
Also, how does baby bonus work? I think as a Canadian overseas I'm eligible for a reduced amount? Then the full amount if I move home?
Oh, and if anyone is in Brissie and would want to get together for a coffee, let me know. I've still yet to meet anyone here.
Hi cannuckmummy
I'm due sept 24..
I've been here 7.5yrs and I'm a resident now so ive got Medicare and haven't had an issue getting a gp, mostly cuz I'm not fussy and have just gone to medical centers. I'm going in as a public patient and I've been in with the hospital antenatal since I was 14 weeks and don't pay for any appointments.
How are you living here? As in what visa are you on as you shouldn't have too many issues with any of that..?
I'm not sure how the citizenships work, our baby will have dual citizenship but I'd assume I'll have to apply for the Canadian one.
Which baby bonus do you mean? The Aussie one or is there similar in Canada? I'll be getting the full Australian one and haven't had any Canadian benefits.
My parents are coming out for 3 weeks Sept 21 so hopefully the bub is on time. It's hard being apart from family but you're making your own now!![]()
Canuckmummy, I had my DD here 7 years ago, so I can tell you about what the the process was then. It may have changed. The best information is the Canadian consulate in Canberra. Their website is good and also when I've had to phone with questions they've been very helpful. They also maintain a list of photographers who can do passport photos to Canadian requirements (which are different than what Aussies need for their passports). Try here: http://www.canadainternational.gc.ca...lia-australie/, pick your language and then look in the bottom of the left side for "For Canadians: Living /travelling in Australia and the Pacific Islands"
Children do not get citizenship just by being born here. It will depend on your partner's Aussie legal status and also your own. If one of you is a permanent resident or Australian citizen then your bub will be Australian. If not, then it won't.
The process of getting a Certificate of Canadian Citizenship was pretty straightforward, and was fairly fast when we did it. The most difficult part was getting an acceptable photo of a one month old! Apply for this one first, because you'll need it to apply for everything else (passport, SIN, etc). whenever your child needs to present a canadian birth certicate they'll use this Certificate instead. From memory I think we had to provide our own proof of canadian citizenship (birth certificate, or passport, I can't remember) and also the Australian birth certificate).
I haven't yet gotten a SIN or OHIP card for my DD. The SIN application looks straightforward. It can be done by mail but we are opting to wait until next time we are home, because it requires an original certificate of canadian citizenship and I'd rather not take the risk of mailing it. I haven't looked at the OHIP application, but we don't qualify for it anyways as we're out of the country too long.
I can't tell you about baby bonus. When we had DD we had been here several years were residents of Australia for tax purposes, so we didn't qualify for any sort of benefit from Canada. And it predated the Australian baby bonus, but I don't think we'd have gotten it anyways because we were on work visas (457) and so didn't qualify for any benefits or assistance here (no medicare, no centrelink).
I hope that helps! good luck!
Last edited by Chickadee; 20-05-2011 at 12:54. Reason: add link
Martha
Jack of all trades, master of none.
But loving this life of mine.