way out west where the wild things grow...

Default Lunch at home ideas??

i have 2 kids, my son is 4 and my daughter is nearly 3, and i was wondering what a good lunch for all of us is? what do you feed your toddlers for lunch?

for breakfast they usually have weetbix, or rice bubbles, or mini wheats, usually followed by a piece of fruit and some yoghurt later. but im seriously stuck for lunch!!

i meal plan all my dinners for the week, and do a big shop weekly, but i always feel like lunch is left out. they go to pre school 2 days a week, and im happy to give them vegemite sandwiches and snacks, but for the days at home with me, what are some good lunch ideas?

thanks everyone in advance
    Me (27) DH (26)
    DS - 5 DD - 4
    M/C at 7 weeks Sept 09
    DS #2 born 'sleeping' at 38 weeks 1/3/11

Me is offline Can anyone else hear chickens??? cluck cluck :P
    Dinner left overs, fried rice, ham and cheese rolls, mini pizza on tortillas, vege sticks with dips, the list is endless. I find I don't put a lot of thought into lunch, it always feels so last minute. Mini quich or fritatas are another good one but they can be done in a batch then frozen

London is offline “I think we're losing our sense of humor instead of being able to relax and laugh at ourselves" - Betty White
    Winner 2012 - BubHubber you'd like to meet IRL
    Winner 2012 - Best Avatar

My 5yr old son LOVES salad wraps instead of sandwiches. Not the same old thing and he doesnt notice they are wholemeal mwahahaa
    Mini-London has arrived!! Proud mumma of a DS and newbie DD

my kids turn up their nose if I try to feed them anything that vaguely resembles a 'dinner' meal so lunches around here are pretty simple! I lik them simple anyway....we are oten only home for lunch and bubs sleep so I want something I can whip up quickly.
    Sandwiches of course!
    Toasted sanwiches and warm milk/milo if they have been playing outside on a cold day go down really well
    Dips with an assortment of corn thins, capsicum, carrot, etc to dip, as well as cheese cubes.
    Fruit smoothies
    Baked beans

That's about it really! HTH.
    Jem & Scott
    Zack 4...lego addict.
    Leigh 3...such a dag!

Evie 12 months...our beautiful baby girl, fighting Leukaemia every day.

Fave lunches here are baked beans on toast, vege soup with toast (I make big batches and freeze it flat in ziplock bags so it's easy to stack and thaw), or I whip up some corn fritters.

Occasionally I'll do sandwiches, but I really hate sandwiches so that's only a last resort. Wraps are OK though.

Our weekend lunches consist of:
    - toasted sandwiches
    - cheese on toast
    - soft dunking eggs
    - microwave poached eggs
    - party pies

Lisa
    If anyone sees the sleep fairy, can they please send her my way

Me: 36
    DH: 37 (FIFO)
    DD#1: 15 Aug 2003
    DD#2: 8 Jan 2007

And a big fave here is 'tiger toast' - vegemite and grilled cheese on toast, cheese done in stripes.
    Jem & Scott
    Zack 4...lego addict.
    Leigh 3...such a dag!

Evie 12 months...our beautiful baby girl, fighting Leukaemia every day.

I make pizzas out of puff pastry, pesto/tom sauce, heaps of vegies, ham and cheese.

Also tuna and corn sandwiches with a little kewpie mayo (DS1's fave).

A big platter of cut up fruit to share (watermelon, tangelos/oranges, grapes are some of our faves)

Pita breads with grated cheese and carrot inside (sounds weird, tastes great!)

Devon 'roll ups' (with cheese inside or without)

Sliced Avocado, cheese, tomato and ham

Grape/Cherry tomatoes stuffed with cottage cheese or ricotta (you can bake these too)
    Give us that grand word "woman" once again, and let's have done with "lady"; one's a term full of fine force, strong, beautiful, and firm, fit for the noblest use of tongue or pen; and one's a word for lackeys. - Ella Wheeler Wilcox

Quote Originally Posted by Mummaholic View Post
    Pita breads with grated cheese and carrot inside (sounds weird, tastes great!)
    Tastes even better when you use cream cheese or cottage cheese instead of butter, and add a few sultanas!

My girls love cruskits with butter and vegemite or rice cakes with butter and vegemite. Vegemite is used quite alot I don't put alot of thought into lunch but vegetable quiche is always nice or egg sandwiches.
    Miss L June 2005 Miss A Jan 2007
    Me 29 He 28