View Poll Results: Health Choices Whilst Pregnant (or trying)

Voters
51. You may not vote on this poll
  • Gave up smoking

12 23.53%
  • Continued smoking

1 1.96%
  • Healthier food

18 35.29%
  • Craved and ate more unhealthy food

22 43.14%
  • Gave up alcohol

34 66.67%
  • Occasional glass of alcohol

7 13.73%
  • Drank alcohol the same

0 0%
  • Exercised more

7 13.73%
  • Exercised the same

22 43.14%
  • Exercised less

15 29.41%
  • Avoided soft cheeses

41 80.39%
  • Would never give up soft cheeses!

5 9.80%
  • Took pregnancy vitamins & minerals

40 78.43%
  • Did not take pregnancy vitamins & minerals

10 19.61%
Multiple Choice Poll.
    lupa is offline I love that I am apart of this club called motherhood

Default Health choices when pregnant

It's interesting to see how much we change or don't change when we become pregnant. We might plan to eat better, give up smoking exercise, but for reasons might not end up happening!

Be honest when answering this poll (it is anonymous), and please tick as many boxes as applicable.
    Last edited by lupa; 14-06-2009 at 09:16. Reason: explained poll
    Mummy to Jethro & Felix

I have up smoking 3 months into my pregnancy (didn't find out I was pregnant until 9 weeks) And I haven't looked back!
    I didn't drink any alcohol while pregnant, but had the occasional glass while breastfeeding.
    I exercised and ate healthier as much as possible, but I didn't give up a lot of the foods you "aren't" supposed to eat, I still ate soft cheese, liver products, etc. But coming from A European background most of my daily diet consisted of these foods, so I just cut what I usually ate in half and ate in moderation.

Out of all the options only the 'Did not take pregnancy vitamins & minerals' fitted in. For the time that it is the best option to take them, i couldnt keep a single thing down.

I dont drink, so wasnt giving anything up there. Or the soft cheese's & i have a super healthy diet so that didnt change either. Didnt exercise before i was pregnate & couldnt while i was, so it didnt change either.
    Krystal 24 Luke 29
    T, A & J
    17 May 2009
    Suffering in silence.

I was already a health nut when I got pregnant, so I didn't have to change much. If anything I started to exercise less (but still did exercise). Right before I got a BFP (so would have been 4 weeks UTD), I was on one of my regular 4km jogs, and I thought "OMG, I thought I was getting fitter? Why am I suddenly so exhausted by jogging? ". Little did I know I was actually pregnant . I switched to walking and swimming once I got pregnant.

I dont change much at all really. I eat fairly healthy already and consider to eat a balanced diet. I dont drive so i walk everywhere and thats my exercise. Dont smoke and im not a big drinker but dont drink during pregnancy. However i may have a drink at xmas if i feel like it. But yeah thats about it.
    ~Sarah~
    Chloe 04-01-07
    Sam due:19-1-10 born 19-2-10
    Expecting a early summer babe

I gave up alcohol as soon as I found out and won't have a drop till bubs comes. I MAY have the occassional glass of wine while BF but I'm not certain of that yet

I have not had ANY caffeine since I found out (used to drink heaps of coke)

I take Elevit and fish oil daily

I am exercising the same amount - possibly a little more - but just different types of exercise and monitoring my heart rate a lot more.

Avoiding soft cheeses and cold meats and high mercury fish

BUT I still eat a lot of unhealthy (fatty, salty, sugary) foods. I'm finding it hard to be as healthy as I would like. Eating healthy takes so much preparation, and that's the last thing I feel like doing right now!
    •Me-Caz-31 DH-Rob-31 DS-Ham-3 ♥DD-Mik-1.5 ♥D? due MAY2013

I quit smoking, stopped drinking, avoided soft cheeses (so so hard), i ate lots of junk food though, but i never really ate healthy so it wasnt really a change. I never excersised but i was even more lazy when i was pregnant i would drive to the corner store haha. I chose "took vitamins" and "didnt take vitamins" because i started to then couldnt keep them down so stopped but took them and if they stayed down, bonus, if they didnt oh well.
    “People were created to be loved, things were created to be used; the reason why the world is in chaos right now is because things are being loved, and people are being used.”
    -Unknown

Hooves is offline My children/my legacy, the best of me is inside them.
    I don't smoke, so that wasn't an issue.

I did take pregnancy vitamins.

I ate what I felt like, but generally was healthier, except I craved cheese burgers from Maccas, and went through a phase where I was buying a few a week.

I did have the occasional glass of alcohol, or sip of hubbies bourbon and coke. I used to love a vodka cruiser on a friday night, before I got pregnant, but gave that up, when we found out.

BUT if hubby had a bourbon and coke can, I often had to have a sip. AND I did have a few glasses of wine.

I was excercising regularly before I found out I was pregnant, but kind of went right off excercise when I found out. I did persevere with it at first, but it just got wayyy too hard.

Then I hurt my foot, and never made it back to the gym, while pregnant.

I am itching to get back into it now though.
    Me 35 DH 36
    DD 12, DS1 7 DS2 4
    DS3 arrived by CS 03/06/09

I gave up smoking when I found out I was pregnant with my first.

I craved sweet foods in my first pregnancy, softserve (specifically, thickshakes) in my second pregnancy and this time am craving salads etc.

I drink the (very) occasional glass of wine.

Exercise the same.

I don't really eat soft cheeses much, but will indulge in Brie if it's on offer.

I don't take pregnancy multi-vitamins but do take iron supps due to really low levels during pregnancy.
    Mama of Four
    DD - 2006 DS1 - 2008 DS2 - 2010 DS3 - 2012

Ive been really really full on about listeria - wont go near salads I havent made myself, no fast food, no goats cheese - I love goats cheese - I want it all the time....sniff

I quit smoking & drinking when I was trying to get pregnant cause we werent having much luck for awhile. I ate less and ate really healthy and exercised more and lost 12 kilos. And then we got pregnant and Ive been eating chocolate everyday since I know its bad - but its my craving...I cant help it!

I intend to never smoke again - the smell grosses me out now and Im not fussed on drinking anymore either!
    Twin A of the terror twins!
    me 34 DH - 37
    DS1 - 11/08/2006 DS2 & DS3 29/07/2009 twin blessing DS4 18/05/2011