What brand/type of bottle would you recommend having on hand 'just in case'?
I've got no idea what 'qualities' i'm supposed to be looking for in a bottle, everyone I know has just bf. It must be BPA and Latex free though![]()
What brand/type of bottle would you recommend having on hand 'just in case'?
I've got no idea what 'qualities' i'm supposed to be looking for in a bottle, everyone I know has just bf. It must be BPA and Latex free though![]()
Me - 18DS - August 09
They're coming to take me away, Ha-haThey're coming to take me away, Ho-ho hee-hee haa-haaTo the funny farm, where life is beautiful all the time!
I too would like to know what style of bottle to use to feed expressed breast milk from. I bought one of the new Nuby wide teat (BPA free) bottles that is also wind resistant and took it to the hospital with me (just in case) when bubs was born. Hospital staff told me that the wide teat was no good, don't use it. So, do I go back to my old avent bottles used from first bub? A health nurse told me the pigeon small long teat is a good one. I didn't know if she had been told to say that though as she was working out of a pharmacy. Anyone got ideas?
I have never had any success with my babies and bottles and I have bought every bottle under the sun, Nuk, Tommee Tippee, Avent, Pigeon, the cheapos from Big W, you name it, I've bought it. All refused!!
So as far as buying bottles "just in case" I don't think I would worry too much at this stage if you are planning to breastfeed.
Best wishes.
I have tried for the last month to get my bub to take a bottle of EBM so I could have a break but no luck. I also have lots of bottles- Tommee Tippee, Nuk, Medela, Avent and also different teats. No luck! He did take one when he was around 6 weeks, but i didn't try a bottle again until 3 months- refused it!
I would maybe buy one bottle to start with to see if they'll take it before worrying about buying a few 'just in case'.
In terms of BPA and latex free, I think if you heat the bottle using hot water rather than microwave it's ok? (i would check that though!). The "Green to Grow" (i think that's what it's called) brand is newish, it looks kinda cool.
I FF both of my children from birth and started with advent bottles. With my son I went through nearly every brand (and spent a fortune) and he wouldn't suck properly.
My daughter was the same - not quite as fussy though.
Seriously at the risk of horrifying some mothers I found the best bottles were the cheap no brand ones (I buy them from Woolies - last lot were approx $1.50 each).
And no neither child ever had problems with wind. Not saying they will work for everyone but if you've tried the others and its not working these might be worth a shot.
Yep, don't buy bottles "just in case" chances are you won't need them, and if they are there, they are an easy temptation if you're having a rough start.
Just arm yourself with breastfeeding knowledge instead, the ABA membership is a good idea! If something really does happen, you'll have time to get bottles later, don't buy them "just in case"![]()
Mama of Four
DD - 2006 DS1 - 2008 DS2 - 2010 DS3 - 2012
I think it's good to have a bottle or two on hand anyway because odds are you'll want to feed bub expressed milk at some stage.
I used the Green to Grow bottles with the wide neck. They're totally natural, free of everything and my son took to them straight away.
Search for them online - there are heaps of places you can get them. They are more expensive but totally worth the money, they're the healthiest on the market
Good luck and enjoy breastfeeding!