User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:
    Amber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 postsEmerald Star - 10,000 posts
    Awards:
    Past Moderator - Thank you

Default That hard icing stuff

Urrgghh i am a total novice when it comes to all things baking, but i am wanting to tackle making a cake for Cam's 1st birthday and Naming day, i wanted to make a cake with that hard icing stuff but don't know what it is called or whether you can make it or if it's best to buy it.

Anyone else made a cake with that stuff, did you buy it or make it from scratch.

Tips needed!

Thanks heaps
    Last edited by V8; 05-04-2009 at 20:00.
    ~ Vee ~
    ~ Joshua Hayden - 8 ~
    ~ Cameron Elliott - 5 ~
    ~ Mitchell Ryan - October 6 2011 ~

Thanks
    Reviews
    hmm.. do you mean the stuff you roll that hardens - fondant or royal icing?

Fondant you can buy in 1kg logs or blocks, colour with powder or gel colouring and you roll out with a rolling pin and sorta lay over the cake and mould it on.. the white chocolate or marshmallow fondant tastes nicer.

You can get marzipan which is the same thing but tastes uh like marzipan?

OJandMe is offline I am the strength my children will have.
    Thanks
    Reviews
    You mean fondant?

You can get it at any good cake shop.
    Gretel, 28 Carlo, 40
    JordanOliverGabrielJulianLysander

I believe that what we become depends on what our fathers teach us at odd moments, when they aren't trying to teach us.
    -- Foucault's Pendulum,Umberto Eco

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:
    Amber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 postsEmerald Star - 10,000 posts
    Awards:
    Past Moderator - Thank you
    Thats the stuff, so you can't get it at coles or woolies, i had a look at woolies but couldn't see it, so i guess they don't have it.