Default Younger women returning to domestic crafts in droves

Younger women returning to domestic crafts in droves
    Article from: Herald Sun
    Kylie Hansen

December 31, 2008 12:00am

SHE sews, cooks, knits, gardens - and even raises chooks.

The housewife is back, with younger women embracing domestic crafts in droves, according to new figures.

Sewing machines have rocketed off shelves in the past six months with Lincraft reporting a 30 per cent increase in sales.

"There has been a definite trend happening and we have also started to see an increase in dress fabric sales," said Lincraft spokesman Jeff Croft.

"Demand for sewing classes has increased and one of the biggest growth areas has been knitting yarn, with a 10-20 per cent increase in sales compared to this time last year."

Spotlight spokesman Steven Carey said DIY craft kits were booming.

The new housewife also appears to be turning the backyards of Victoria into vegie gardens with sales of vegetable seedlings and herbs surging 30 per cent in 12 months.

Tomatoes are hot, as are beans, peas and herbs, according to Nursery and Garden Industry Association chief Steven Potts.

Book A Chook, which "rents" out backyard chooks, is struggling to keep up with demand.

"I can't keep up with supply chook-wise at the moment and about 80 per cent of people are deciding to keep them," operator Deb Maffescioni said.

New data from social forecaster AustraliaSCAN, shows more Victorians are focusing on home-based activities.

The survey shows a 5 per cent increase in the number of people spending time on craft and a 4 per cent rise in people devoting time to home cooking, DIY and gardening.

"There has been a substantial shift in our mindset to a more old-fashioned frugal lifestyle -- that real waste not, want not approach," said David Chalke, a social analyst and consultant to AustraliaSCAN.

"There are a confluence of forces - the global financial crisis, environmental concerns and a new cocooning - which are pulling together to form the new homemaker.

"That's why we are embracing the domestic crafts again."

The Stitches and Craft Show expects 50,000 visitors to its next Melbourne show in March with increasing numbers of people under 35 and teenagers.

Myer homewares buyer Rebecca Fanelli said the new focus on the home was reflected in sales trends.

"We find when things get tough, people will buy more decorative things rather than the core stuff -- it is an easy way to update and refresh the home," Ms Fanelli said.

"Hot right now are things like bed linen, bathroom accessories, cushions and throws."
    http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sto...9-2862,00.html

Elysha Jade 15/11/05

They are handy skills to have never know when our luxury of technology and the modern world etc. may be taken away.

Power to the house wife!!! HEHEHEHE. I think it's fantastic that it seems people are doing more for themselves and the environment.

I had to laugh though as that article pretty much described me - chooks in the backyard, vegie garden, cook most meals at home, sew alot of stuff myself.......... does that mean I'm not a geek anymore

Yep, It's now ultra modern to learn these skills and apply them in the home. I hope my girls will be that savvy as they grow up.

'Parents have a prior right to choose the kind of education that shall be given to their children.'
    UN Declaration of Human Rights

Well its just common sense. Why spend a fortune on something you can make for so much cheaper and have the satisfaction of knowing you made it. I treasure everything I make (unless its super dodgy )

Plus, knitting needles are handy poking sticks for getting DP to make me a cup of tea

(And Lincraft and Spotlight people, if you read this, please stop reducing your knitting yarn sections every year for Christmas stuff. It makes me very sad )
    BMid student - year 2
    + monkey (4) and princess poo (1)

I've come in here to post this article - Miaow you've beat me to it again.

I knew I was cool. I keep telling DP I am but he doesn’t seem to think so. But this proves I am.

I read the article to him and he asked if I had written it

I love all craft and making my kids toys especially dolls for DD.

We do/have most of the things on the 'in' list.
    Doing housework with young children must be like clearing snow in a blizzard!!!

As long as they don't go back to allowing men to control them in the role they choose...then this should be fine! Actually I think it's wonderful...and about time too.
    Mummy of 6 little *cough* dears
    DD - 15*DS - 13* DD - 12 *DD - 9 *DD - 5*DS - 3
    ~~~Is Married!!!~~~
    SW - 86kgs, GW - 60kgs, CW - 57kg

Yep never in a million years did I think that I of all people would have the inner desire to become a home guru but I have my garden and vegies, worm farm (thanks to chrissy) and I am even learning to knit!

I think my Gram would have been proud to see me
    Mo Chlann, mo Ghra', mo chuid den Tsaol

My new years resolution was to buy a sewing machine and make a vege patch .

Lastcenturymum is offline I'm on a break from modding (it wont last forever ... I'll be BACK!!)
    I think it's very cyclical. Knitting comes and goes out of fashion, so do lots of crafts and things. I think it's great. I'm sure the economy is having an influence as people are often more time pressed.

I've always (until recent years) made all the kids clothes, knitted heaps of their jumpers, made my own bread, preserved tomatoes, fruit and stuff. My Dad has always grown vegies and had better soil than me, so he's my supplier!

And my brother always has chooks!!

Hazelnut - how so you sew a vegie patch? Just kidding!!